EthicsAncient CulturesBiographiesMedieval CulturesScience FictionDetroit PoetryFolklore, Myths, & LegendsSculpture
Detroit MusicFreedom & EqualityMuslim JourneysKasle CollectionNational Candy MonthUrban FarmingHistory of NursingArabian Nights & Other TalesHumanities CenterWomen & Mental Health IssuesGovernment Documents
Sculpture
This is the "Physical Science, Sept 2014" page of the "Subject of the Month" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Subject of the Month  

A monthly display in the Purdy/Kresge Library featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.wayne.edu/somd Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Physical Science, Sept 2014 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

September 2014

Physical Science Image for September 2014

Selector: James Van Loon and Rachael Clark

Physics and Astronomy are the focus of this month's Subject of the Month display in the Purdy/Kresge Library.  Browse books, eBooks, and web resources on String Theory, Fractals, Optics, Nebulas, and more, including many items from the Juvenile Collection.  The display complements a traveling exhibit, Here, There, & Everywhere.

"Here There and Everywhere!" Exhibit

Exhibit Themes Overview Image

A Special Exhibit in the Atrium of the Undergraduate Library from September 8 - 26, 2014.  Developed by NASA and the Chandra X-ray Center of the Smithsonian. 

 

Here, There, and Everywhere - Video Trailer

Featured Internet Resources, September 2014

Website Icon

  • Astrophysics Data System
    A digital library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 7.8 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-print
  • INSPIRE!
    High-Energy Physics Literature Database, replaces SPIRES.
  • NIST Data Gateway
    The NIST Data Gateway provides easy access to NIST scientific and technical data. These data cover a broad range of substances and properties from many different scientific disciplines.
  • Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
    The Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) is the American Physical Society's online archive for Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review Series I-III. The Wayne State subscription provides full-text access to all APS journal articles published from 1893–present.
  • Science.gov
    Science.gov searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
  • SciTech Connect
    SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database.

Featured Databases, September 2014

Research Databases Icon

  • Scopus
    "Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
  • INSPEC  
      
    Inspec, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, contains the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains scientific and technical journals, conference proceedings from 1969 to the present.
  • arXiv.org e-Print archive  
      
    arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
  • IOP Science  
      
    A platform for IOP-hosted journal content. It provides site-wide access to scientific, technical and medical content, and incorporates some of the most innovative technologies to enhance the user-experience.
  • IEEE Xplore  
      
    Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
 

Picture of the Display

Physics and Astronomy Book Display Sept 2014

 

Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett Quote

Sir Terence David John "Terry" Pratchett, OBE (born 28 April 1948) is an English author of fantasy novels, especially comical works. In 2001 he won the annual Carnegie Medal for The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents, the first Discworld book marketed for children. He received the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement in 2010.     -Wikipedia

 

Featured Journals

Cover Art
Advances in Condensed Matter Physics
Advances in Condensed Matter Physics is a peer-reviewed open access journal that publishes state-of-the-art reviews and original research papers in all areas of condensed matter physics.

Cover Art
Astronomy and Astrophysics Review
The Astronomy and Astrophysics Review publishes invited reviews by leading experts from around the world. Topics include all areas of astronomy and astrophysics; cosmic ray physics; studies in the solar system; astrobiology; developments in laboratory or particle physics directly relevant to astronomy; instrumentation; computational or statistical methods with specific astronomical applications; and other subjects relevant to astronomy and astrophysics.

Cover Art
Astroparticle Physics
Astroparticle Physics publishes experimental and theoretical research papers in the interacting fields of Cosmic Ray Physics, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Cosmology and Particle Physics.

Cover Art
Journal of Physical Chemistry A
The Journal of Physical Chemistry A publishes studies on kinetics and dynamics; spectroscopy, photochemistry, and excited states; environmental and atmospheric chemistry, aerosol processes, geochemistry, and astrochemistry; and molecular structure, quantum chemistry, and general theory.

Cover Art
Nano Letters
Nano Letters reports on fundamental research in all branches of the theory and practice of nanoscience and nanotechnology, publishing preliminary, experimental, and theoretical results on the physical, chemical, and biological phenomena, along with processes and applications of structures within the nanoscale range.

Cover Art
Nature Materials
Nature Materials is a monthly multi-disciplinary journal aimed at bringing together cutting-edge research across the entire spectrum of materials science and engineering.

Cover Art
Nature Physics
Nature Physics publishes papers in all areas of physics, pure and applied.

Cover Art
Nuclear Physics B
Nuclear Physics B focuses on the domain of high energy physics, quantum field theory, statistical systems, and mathematical physics, and includes four main sections: high energy physics - phenomenology, high energy physics - theory, high energy physics - experiment, and quantum field theory, statistical systems, and mathematical physics.

Cover Art
Small: Nano Micro
Small provides a forum for experimental and theoretical studies of fundamental and applied interdisciplinary research, covering a broad spectrum of topics at the nano- and microscale at the interface of materials science, chemistry, physics, engineering, medicine, and biology.

 

Featured e-Books

Cover Art
Advances in Classical Field Theory - Asher Yahalom (Editor)
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebrary
ISBN: 9781608051953
Publication Date: 2011-01-01

Cover Art
Atomic Physics - Christopher J. Foot
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebrary
ISBN: 9780198506966
Publication Date: 2005-02-10

Cover Art
Atomic Structure Prediction of Nanostructures, Clusters and Surfaces - Cristian V. Ciobanu; Cai-Zhuan Wang; Kai-Ming Ho
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebrary
ISBN: 9783527409020
Publication Date: 2013-04-15

Cover Art
Cell Physiology Source Book - Nicholas Sperelakis
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKS-EBL
ISBN: 9780123877574
Publication Date: 2011-01-01

Cover Art
Gravitational-Wave Physics and Astronomy - Warren G. Anderson; Patrick Brady; Jolien D. E. Creighton
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebrary
ISBN: 9783527408863
Publication Date: 2011-10-17


Cover Art
Modern Astrodynamics - Pini Gurfil
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebrary
ISBN: 9780123735621
Publication Date: 2006-10-19

Cover Art
Physics in Biology and Medicine - Paul Davidovits
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebrary
ISBN: 9780123694119
Publication Date: 2007-08-31

Cover Art
Physics in Nuclear Medicine - Simon R. Cherry; James A. Sorenson; Michael E. Phelps
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-Clinical Key
ISBN: 9781416051985
Publication Date: 2012-04-12

Cover Art
Quantum Mechanics with Applications to Nanotechnology and Information Science - Yehuda B. Band; Yshai Avishai
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKS-EBL
ISBN: 9780444537867
Publication Date: 2012-12-13

Cover Art
Statistical Physics of Fields - Mehran Kardar
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKS-Cambridge Books Online
ISBN: 9780521873413
Publication Date: 2007-06-07

Cover Art
Theoretical Astrophysics - M. L. Bartelmann
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK-ebrary
ISBN: 9783527669783
Publication Date: 2013-07-26

 

Fysikshow

"So there are these guys, these science-genius guys, who also love music. Fysikshow is the name and the awesome-ness you’re about to witness in the video, below, is their doing. They took the Ruben’s tube to another level and added a 2-D Pyro Board, with 2500 drilled holes in it, to the already-cool invention."    The Source

 

Science on a Sphere

NOAA Logo

"Science On a Sphere is an amazing spherical display system that projects dynamic simulations of the Earth, its atmosphere, oceans and land. Simply put, it's a global display system that uses computers and video projectors to display planetary data onto a 6-foot diameter sphere, analogous to a giant animated globe."

"The Detroit Zoo is only the second zoo in the country to install the system as a permanent
attraction. Science On a Sphere was developed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), the agency that studies environmental data and provides the operating systems for this remarkable exhibit."

 

Fun with Physical Science

Science Penguin Logo

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip