Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Subject of the Month

A monthly display in the Purdy/Kresge Library featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.

Collections at the Walter P. Reuther Library, Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs

Marxism and the Fight for Black Liberation

Wayne State University Department of African American Studies Records 1964-1988, Box 4, Folder 12: "Fliers and Brochures, 1970 to 1980." 

Cass Avenue, Warren Avenue, Detroit, Michigan

Cass Avenue, Warren Avenue, Detroit, Michigan:
The intersection of Cass Avenue at Warren Avenue, Detroit, Michigan. Old Main is at the right.

Wayne State University Press

Logo for the Wayne State University PressThe Wayne State University Press is a distinctive urban publisher committed to supporting the core research, teaching, and service mission of WSU by generating high-quality scholarly and general-interest books of global importance.

Through its publishing program, the Press disseminates research, advances education, and serves the local community while expanding the international reputation of the Press and the University.

February 2018

 

Alpha Kappa Alpha group photo, 1947

Selectors: Alison Stankrauff and Alison Greenlee

Wayne State University created the Center for Black Studies after a student demonstration in 1970. It gained department status in 1989 following another student rally. In 2015, the name changed from the Department of Africana Studies to the Department of African American Studies. Learn about the student activism that led to the establishment of Black studies at Wayne State.

Alpha Kappa Alpha, 1947
A photograph of the Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority from the 1947 Wayne University yearbook. AKA started in 1908 with the mission to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards and promote unity and friendship among college women of color.

 

Looking Back on the Revolution - eBooks

WSU Access ID & Password Required

Views from the Revolution - Print

Videos (February 2018)

Under the direction of assistant professor Billicia Hines, WSU students Brandon Wright, Ernest Bentley, Rachel Smith, & Yakeem Tatum perform at the Wayne State University Martin Luther King, Jr. Tribute, January 13, 2017.

Agents of Change

Current struggles to make colleges welcoming and relevant for students of color continue movements which swept across campuses fifty years ago. AGENTS OF CHANGE tells the timely and inspiring story of how successful protests for equity and inclusion led to establishing the first Black and Ethnic Studies departments at two very different universities: San Francisco State (1968) and Cornell (1969).

WSU Access ID & Password Required

Websites (February 2018)

Databases (February 2018)

Oxford African American Studies Center composite image

WSU Access ID & Password Required

Electronic Journals (February 2018)

Cover of Journal, The Black Scholar, Winter 2017

WSU Access ID & Password Required

Wayne State University Sesquicentennial

WSU Logo with 150 years in the heart of Detroit

On May 18, in 1868, Wayne State University was officially founded as the Detroit Medical College. The first academic term began on Nov. 3, 1868.  On April 22, 1956, the Michigan Legislature adopted Act 183 “to establish and regulate a state institution of higher learning to be known as Wayne State University.” 

Photo of Detroit Medical College with the WSU Seal, Making History Since 1868

 

Throughout 2018, the WSU Libraries invite you to join us as we celebrate our University's rich history and sesquicentennial. The official celebration period will run from Jan. 1, 2018 to Nov. 1, 2018.  In addition to the Subject of the Month displays, please check the University Calendar for Special Events and Exhibits.

Pictures of the Display

Subject of the Month Display

Main Display

Special Collections Material for the Subject of the Month

Material from the African American Literature Special Collection

Special Collections in the WSULS

Use the "Request from Closed" button on the catalog record to access these books in the African American Literature Special Collection.

WSU Theses and Dissertations

Black Students Today - eBooks

WSU Access ID & Password Required

Black in the Academy

eBooks

WSU Access ID & Password Required

Books in Print