Need Help?
Some Notes About Testing, Measurement and Assessment Resources
Some Notes about Tests and Measurement and Assessment Instruments Published tests and measurement and assessment instruments are those available from commercial publishers. Their use is highly restricted. In most cases, users are required to contact the author or publisher to obtain a copy of the test or instrument or permission to use the test or instrument. There may be fees involved in the use of published tests or instruments.
Unpublished tests or instruments are not commercially available, but may be located through some of the resources provided below, like the ETS Test Database or the Health and Psychosocial Instruments database. Those wishing to administer an unpublished test or instrument will need to consider possible copyright restrictions. Contacting the author for permission is advisable and often required.
The WSU Library System DOES NOT collect educational or psychological tests or measurement or assessment instruments.
Penn State has published a guide to Finding Psychological and Educational Testing Instruments that might provide answers to some of your questions about locating and using testing, measurement and assessment instruments. PLEASE NOTE THAT SOME INFORMATION, SUCH AS TEST AVAILABILITY, DOES NOT APPLY TO WAYNE STATE.
Test Reviews
Mental
Measurements Yearbook
Produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude,
psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks", 9th through current editions.
Test
Reviews Online
Use this database to search listings and locate reviews for over 4,000 commercially available tests. Over 2,000 of the tests have been reviewed in Mental Measurements.
Resources for Unpublished Tests
ETS Tests in
Microfiche
ETC Tests in Microfiche is microfiche collection from Educational Testing Service provides copies of unpublished tests. You can locate tests in this collection using the ETS online test database.
You can access a copy of the instrument, if the Availability field information refers to:
A journal--the journal citation will provide you with the information you need to locate the instrument.
An ERIC Document. You can look up the test in the ERIC database by using the ED number. In many cases, if it was published after 1993, you will be able to link to the full-text through the ERIC database. If it is not available in full-text online in the ERIC database, you will need to retrieve the item from the ERIC Document Microfiche collection. You will need the ED number. See a Reference Librarian for assistance.
Tests in Microfiche Test Collection. The TC Number is the number of the test in the ETS Tests in Microfiche collection, located in Purdy Library. See a Reference Librarian for assistance.
C.A.R.T.
Compendium of Assessment and Research Tools for Measuring Education and Youth
Development Outcomes
This site has a database that provides information on
instruments that measure attributes associated with youth development programs.
Information includes a brief description of the instruments, the target
population for the instrument and contact information for acquiring the
instrument.
Note that in most cases the instruments themselves are not available through the database. However, some instruments listed are available through the ETS Test Collection on Microfiche, or have been published in cited journal articles.
Health
and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
A searchable database that provides access to information on
measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences,
organizational behavior, and library and information science, such as:
questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding
schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios and
tests.
WSU Library
Catalog--Locating Books and Other Resources
If you know the name of a particular test or instrument, you
can search for it as a keyword in the library catalog, to see if there are any
materials related to the test or instrument in our collection.
Do a subject search for EDUCATIONAL TESTS AND MEASUREMENTS to locate materials on educational testing and assessment.
Do a subject search for PSYCHOLOGICAL TESTS to locate materials related to psychological testing and measurement.
Purdy
Kresge Library Test Collection
The Purdy/Kresge Library has a non-circulating collection of
test indexes and other reference resources on testing and assessment. It is
located on the first floor of the Purdy Wing of the Purdy/Kresge library, in
the basement elevator cove near the microfiche readers.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait