Ableism & Disabilities
Academic Ableism Disability and Higher Education by Call Number: WSU Access ID & Password RequiredISBN: 9780472900725Publication Date: 2018Examining everything from campus accommodation processes, to architecture, to popular films about college life, Dolmage argues that disability is central to higher education, and that building more inclusive schools allows better education for all.
Also available as an Open Access ebook: https://www.fulcrum.org/concern/monographs/1c18dg49d
Disability and Social Theory : New Developments and Directions by Call Number: WSU Access ID & Password RequiredISBN: 9781137023001Publication Date: 2012-06-01This comprehensive, interdisciplinary collection, examines disability from a theoretical perspective, challenging views of disability that dominate mainstream thinking. Throughout, social theories of disability intersect with ideas associated with sex/gender, race/ethnicity, class and nation.
Contours of Ableism by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780230579286Publication Date: 2009-09-16Challenging notions of what constitutes 'normal' and 'pathological' bodies, this study theoretically reinvigorates disability studies by reconceptualising it as 'studies of ableism' focusing on the practices and formations of able-bodiedness to uncover what it means to be 'able' rather than 'disabled'.
Disabled Wrtiers
- Disabled Writers & ExpertsThis site primarily serves as a database of disabled writers and disabled sources, eliminating any chance of the "I couldn't find anyone," excuse for lack of diversity. The database includes more than 175 writers with diverse expertise, ranging from science and technology to theater and pop culture. A chart conveniently catalogs writers by byline and area of expertise and clicking on a name reveals additional details, including a biography, portfolio links, and contact information. Readers will find an honest discussion about journalistic mediums and mental health, as "20 percent of the population, which includes media consumers and creators, is disabled, and it is important to put disabled people in charge of their own narratives."
Differently Abled in Higher Education
Strategies for Fostering Inclusive Classrooms in Higher Education by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781787560611Publication Date: 2019 (Bingley, UK : Emerald Publishing)Higher education institutions continually seek innovative solutions to eliminate access, participation, and achievement barriers as well as practices that impede retention and graduation rates in higher education. This volume provides evidence-based strategies for implementing equity and inclusion at different higher education institutions around the world.
Supporting Transgender and Non-Binary People with Disabilities or Illnesses: a Good Practice Guide for Health and Care Provision by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781785925412Publication Date: 2019 (London, UK: Jessica Kingsley Publishers)By drawing on the experience of trans people who are affected by physical disability, chronic illness and mental illness, this book is the definitive guide on providing best practise in approaches to health and care policy. Kermode gives advice on topics such as transitioning with a disability, sex-specific service provision and fertility and reproduction. An essential guide for practitioners in health and social care positions.
Assistive Technology for People with Disabilities by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781440835117Publication Date: 2018 (Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood)Assistive technology can be used in two ways: to help people with disabilities to do things that people without disabilities can do without technology, and to improve access to everyday technology that is not designed for people with disabilities. In both cases, the focus is on matching individuals with the tools best suited to fill their needs. This book explores this exciting field broadly and in depth while still keeping the "people-first" mindset that is the hallmark of assistive technology. Examines key issues related to assistive technology, such as access and affordability, and what challenges individuals must overcome to maximize the benefits of these tools
Pedagogy, Disability and Communication: Applying Disability Studies in the Classroom by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781138225527Publication Date: 2017 (New York, NY : Routledge)Bringing together a range of perspectives from communication and disability studies scholars, this collection provides a theoretical foundation along with practical solutions for the inclusion of disability studies within the everyday curriculum. It examines a variety of aspects of communication studies including interpersonal, intercultural, health, political and business communication as well as ethics, gender and public speaking, offering case study examples and pedagogical strategies as to the best way to approach the subject of disability in education. For anyone who has wondered how to bring about a greater degree of inclusion and ethics within the classroom.
The Power of Disability: 10 Lessons for Surviving, Thriving, and Changing the World by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781523087563Publication Date: 2020 (Oakland, CA : Berrett-Koehler Publishers)Disabled people are strong. There is no group in history with more consistent experience at making their mark despite the deck being stacked against them. Al Etmanski's mission is to push back against ableism and show disabled people as authoritative sources on creativity, resilience, love, and meaning. You will have no trouble relating to these stories and experiences and applying their insights to enrich your life.
Disability: a Reference Handbook by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781440862298Publication Date: 2019 (Santa Barbara, CA: Contemporary World Issues)Unlike encyclopedias or biographical dictionaries that only offer brief accounts of key topics, people, events, and organizations, this book provides important interpretive and analytical frameworks and meaningful primary evidence. It includes valuable reference tools, key primary documents and important analyses, disability history research, gives readers access to important voices, and arms readers with knowledge about what issues concern people with disabilities in the 21st century.
Politics of Empowerment: Disability Rights and the Cycle of American Policy Reform by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781503600874Publication Date: 2019 (Stanford, CA : Stanford University Press)Despite the progress of decades-old disability rights policy, including the landmark Americans with Disabilities Act, threats continue to undermine the wellbeing of this population. David Pettinicchio offers a historically grounded analysis of the singular case of U.S. disability policy, countering long-held views of progress that privilege public demand as its primary driver. Drawing on extensive archival material, Pettinicchio redefines the relationship between grassroots advocacy and institutional politics, revealing a cycle of progress and backlash embedded in the American political system.
