Foreign, Comparative, & International Law
- Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window*WSU AccessID and password required
Brill's database offers sources of foreign law, complete bibliographic citations to legislation, and selected references to secondary sources. Includes a comparative law section on "Citizenship, Emigration, Immigration, & Nationality."
- Immigration and Refugee Board of CanadaCountry of origin information, statistics, and legal and policy resources.
- United Kingdom, Home OfficeCountry information and guidance reports used by U.K. Visas and Immigration to make decisions in asylum and human rights applications.
- United Nations Official Document SystemRepository for documents published by the U.N. Full text documents date from 1992.
- United Nations Refugee Agency: RefworldCollection of country information, legal information, policy documents, and reference documents.
Books
AILA's Asylum Primer by Call Number: LAW LIBRARY COURSE RESERVES - LIB USE ONLYISBN: 1573703761Publication Date: 2015Summary of laws, international standards, issues in asylum law, and sample documents and forms.
The Ashgate Research Companion to Migration Theory and Policy by Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOKPublication Date: 2013*WSU AccessID and password required
Reviews current state of literature on migration law, theory and policy, and sketches out the contours of its future long-term development.
- Asylum Case Law Sourcebook by Gerald Seipp; Maria Baldini-PoterminAccess restricted to Law School students, faculty, and staff; individual Westlaw password required.
Compilation of federal court case abstracts organized by subject matter.
Essentials of Asylum Law by Call Number: KF 4836 .E88 2015 LAW LIBRARYPublication Date: 2015Provides an overview of asylum law, up-to-date case law, and legal arguments on currently developing issues.
Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell by Call Number: LAW LIBRARY COURSE RESERVES - LIB USE ONLYPublication Date: 2017Compact, comprehensive title offers a thorough overview of the history, constitutional basis, statutory structure, regulatory provisions, administrative procedure, and ethical principles related to immigration law and practice.- Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook: A Comprehensive Outline and Reference Tool by Call Number: LAW LIBRARY COURSE RESERVES - LIB USE ONLYPublication Date: 2022/23Comprehensive, one volume reference work for attorneys or academics that contains all related federal regulations, statutes, and forms needed for U.S. immigration law practice.
- Law of Asylum in the United States by Deborah E. Anker
Access restricted to Law School students, faculty, and staff; individual Westlaw password required.
Asylum law, withholding of removal, and Convention Against Torture protection as well as basic procedures for applying for relief.
Law Journals and Practitioner News
- Bender's Immigration BulletinAccess restricted to Law School students, faculty, and staff; individual LexisNexis password required.
Bimonthly publication that provides recent immigration-related developments, summaries of cases, reproductions of updated regulations and government documents, and analysis of changes in immigration law by practitioners in the field. - CQ Roll Call Washington Immigration BriefingAccess restricted to Law School students, faculty, and staff; individual Westlaw password required.
Congressional Quarterly's Roll Call Washington Immigration Briefing provides information on developments in Immigration topical areas. - Forced Migration Current AwarenessA service highlighting open access reports and scholarly materials relating to refugees, asylum-seekers, internally displaced persons, and other forced migrants.
- Immigration Law AdvisorCreated by EOIR "to disseminate information on developments in immigration law pertinent to the Immigration Courts and the Board of Immigration Appeals." Includes feature articles, reviews of federal court activity, recent BIA precedent decisions, and updates on new immigration-related federal regulations.
- Interpreter ReleasesAccess restricted to Law School students, faculty, and staff; individual Westlaw password required.
Updates and analysis on recent court opinions from the Board of Immigration Appeals, Administrative Appeals Office, Office of Chief Administrative Hearing Officer, and federal courts as well as new administrative and legislative documents. - RefLawAn online forum offering critical analysis on important new cases, legislation, and emerging issues in refugee law.
WSU Libraries Databases
- Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new windowAccess restricted to Law School students, faculty, and staff; individual password required.
Primary and secondary legal content. Summarizes selected splits among U.S. federal courts of appeals. - Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window*WSU AccessID and password required
Helps research, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data. Topics include: Asylum and Refugees in the United States, Immigration, Sanctuary Cities, Undocumented Immigrants, and U.S. Borders. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window*WSU AccessID and password required
HeinOnline provides online access to legal journals, rare and out-of-print collections, and all back issues of indexed legal journals. This page provides access to all HeinOnline libraries subscribed to by WSU. It also provides a tool to search across the various resources. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window*WSU AccessID and password required
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window*WSU AccessID and password required
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Shepard’s Citations Service, as well. - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window*WSU AccessID and password required
U.S. legislative information including hearings, reports, prints and documents and the CIS Legislative Histories from Congressional Information Service. Provides the option to limit searches to the Congressional Record or the U.S. Serial Set.
Local Aid Organizations
- Arab Community Center for Economic and Social Services (ACCESS)Immigration legal services on a sliding-fee scale for low-income clients.
- Freedom House DetroitServes those seeking asylum through legal services, shelter, food, clothing, and access to mental and medical health care, language classes, and job skills training.
- International Institute of Metro DetroitImmigration Legal Services provides free or low-cost legal services in non-employment related immigration matters.
- Southwest Detroit Immigrant & Refugee CenterFree or low-cost legal services for immigrants and refugees.
- Michigan Legal HelpImmigration self-help tools.
- Michigan Immigration Rights CenterMichigan Immigrant Service Provider Reference Guide.
WSU Law School Asylum & Immigration Clinics
*By appointment only. See clinic's profiles for contact information.
- Asylum & Immigration Law ClinicOffers free legal services to Michigan residents seeking immigration relief.
- Immigration Appellate Advocacy ClinicRepresents low-income clients before the Board of Immigration Appeals.
National Organizations
- American Immigration CouncilProvides fact sheets and reports, litigation and advocacy, and practice advisories.
- Center for Gender and Refugee StudiesServes women, children, LGBTQ, and other refugees fleeing gender-based violence and other harms.
- Global Migration Data Analysis CentreThe Migration Data Portal provides comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about global migration data.
- Human Rights FirstReports and resources for asylum topics like Immigration Detention and Refugee Protection.
- Immigration EqualityLGBTQ immigrant rights organization that produces an asylum manual intended for use by pro bono and immigration attorneys working on LGBTQ/HIV asylum cases.
- Migration Policy InstituteIncludes news, maps, statistics, and policy articles about immigration, refugees, and asylum-seekers. Its "Data Hub" page includes maps by state and country on multiple topics, population and data profiles, flow of immigrants / emigrants, and migration statistics.
- National Conference of State LegislatorsInformation on state immigration laws, and a searchable database of enacted state laws and resolutions since 2008.
- National Immigration Justice CenterProcedural updates, reference materials, practice advisories, government memos, training webinars, sample documents and forms, and FAQs and info sheets.
Contact Information
Neef Law Library: (313) 577-6180