General Central & South American Legal Research Resources
- Legal Information Institute, World Legal Materials from North America*Contains links to laws of selected nations in North and Central America and the Caribbean.
- World Bank, Documents & ReportsCollection of documents and reports going back to 1946 on range of development-related topics worldwide.
- Corte Centroamericana de JusticiaRegional tribunal for Central American nations. Opinions are located under "Jurispruencia". Documents dating back to the 1990s are available under "Centro de Documentacion” link.
- Inter-American Court of Human RightsOfficial, English-language site of the Court.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHistoric and background documents on treaties enacted prior to 2020 are available in HeinOnline's "U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library" database.
*WSU resource limited to current students, faculty, and staff for off-campus access.
- Bowling Green State University Library, Historical Worldwide Newspapers Online: Latin AmericaGuide w/links to historic newspapers online, by nation.
- CRL / ICON, Int'l Coalition on NewspapersSearch by country, city, or newspaper name.
Nations & Territories, A-D
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Wilson Center, "The Brazilian Judiciary"Text + infögraphic explaining how the judicial branch works in Brazil.
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Chile: Biblioteca del Congreso Nacional de ChileOfficial Spanish language Chilean "History of the Law" website. Highlights include versions of constitutions, codes, and legislative history / bulletins, as well as a history of the "Lost Years", 1965-1973.
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
Official gov’t resources
- <branches of gov't>
National libraries / archives - Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
Nations & Territories, E-N
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- GlobaLex
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- GlobaLex, "Legal Research in Guatemala"An excellent, comprehensive guide to researching the laws of Guatemala.
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
Nations & Territories, P-Z
- Republic of Panama, Ministry of the PresidentOfficial Spanish-language website of the President of Panama.
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Peru: Poder Judicial del PeruOfficial, Spanish language website of the Peru Judiciary.
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
- Official gov’t resources
- National libraries / archives
- Legal Information Institute (LII), World Legal Materials
Economic & Political Organizations
- Amnesty InternationalCovers both Americas region, as well as individual nations. Includes links to statistical reports by outside organizations.
- Organization of American StatesOfficial, English-language website of the organization.
- World Bank, Latin American Development ForumMany development-related economic, sociological, and demographic reports on Latin America.
Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, & Westlaw Resources
Books & Reports
Enforcing the Rule of Law by Call Number: Law Library: JL 960 .E54 2006 + WSU E-BookPublication Date: 2006
Foreign investment in South America : a comprehensive guide to infrastructure and the legal environment by Call Number: Law Library: KH 101 .B87 F67 2018Publication Date: 2018
A Latin American Guide to the International Court of Justice Case Law by Call Number: *WSU E-BookPublication Date: 2016- Legal Guide to Doing Business in South America by Call Number: *WSU E-BookPublication Date: 2016*Available to current Law School students, faculty, and staff via the Library System's LexisNexis Digital Library database.
Republics of difference : religious and racial self-governance in the Spanish Atlantic world by Call Number: *WSU E-BookPublication Date: 2022- We, the mediated people : popular constitution-making in contemporary South America by Call Number: *WSU E-BookPublication Date: 2023
