The Michigan Electronic Library
To use MEL electronic databases you will have to authenticate. This means that if a user is coming from either a registered/Michigan IP address, then they will be allowed to access the resource. If the user isn't seen as coming from a registered/Michigan IP address, then the user will be directed to authenticate using MeL's secondary authentication page, which includes the following options to log in with:
- A valid Michigan driver's license number or an official State of Michigan ID card number (available at any Secretary of State's office for Michigan residents who are non-drivers).
- Valid library credentials (name and library barcode) from a participating MeLCat library
- Academic Search Complete (MEL)Designed for academic institutions. Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research. Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text resources for STEM research. Social sciences and the humanities also covered.
- Opposing Viewpoints (MEL)Provides different views about issues that help students develop critical thinking skills. This resource brings balance and perspective to contemporary issues using arguments from experts.
- Political Science Complete (MEL)Designed for students, researchers, and government institutions. Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of current discourse.
- Explora for High Schools (MEL)Provides hundreds of popular magazines and reference books for high school libraries. Covers subjects such as art, history, sports, and music. Includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents.