Wideranging and authoritative, this bestselling sociology dictionary is the most informative of its kind. Compiled by a team of sociological experts, under the editorship of Gordon Marshall and John Scott, it is packed with over 2,500 entries. With terms taken from sociology and the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science, it provides widespread coverage of all aspects of sociology, from adaptation to zero tolerance . It also contains biographies covering key figures, such as Gilles Deleuze and Erich Fromm. Jargon-free entries are elaborated with clear descriptions and in-depth analysis, many using real-life examples, making even the most complicated subjects easy to understand. This new edition has been revised to bring the dictionary completely up-to-date, while retaining the concise, clear quality of previous editions. Now boasting many entry-level web links, accessible via the Dictionary of Sociology companion website, this dictionary offers more relevant and useful information than ever before. An invaluable introduction to sociology for beginners, and a key reference work for more advanced students, teachers, and professionals working with sociology and related fields.
This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume. Contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the discipline Distilled from the highly regarded Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, with entries completely revised and updated to provide succinct and up-to-date coverage of the fundamental topics Global in scope, both in terms of topics and contributors Each entry includes references and suggestions for further reading Cross-referencing allows easy movement around the volume
From anomy to Zeitgeist , this is the most authoritative and up-to-date dictionary of sociology available in a single volume. Designed to meet the needs of those new to the subject, it will also be invaluable to more advanced students. Over 2,500 clear, jargon-free entries give international coverage of terms, methods, and concepts, including biographical entries on major figures, and related terms for psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.
Winner of the 1993 Dartmouth Medal, this classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Written by a sociologist who is also an accomplished writer and teacher, this is a dictionary of sociology aimed primarily at students. Allan Johnson provides an invaluable reference tool, providing a lively and engaging introduction to thinking in a sociological way.