Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chat or Email
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Send email to Alexandra Sarkozy, philosophy liaison
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on
philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S.
and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S.
materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
These databases are particularly good for research in Philosophy issues.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
In the area of philosophy, Project Muse provides searchable full text for 28 philosophy journals, including:
The American Journal of Bioethics
Hastings Center Report
The Journal of Aesthetic Education
The Journal of Nietzsche Studies
The Journal of Speculative Philosophy
Journal of the History of Philosophy
Kennedy Institute of Ethics Journal
Philosophy and Literature
Philosophy & Public Affairs
Philosophy and Rhetoric
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides searchable full text for over 80 journals in philosophy.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas onThe American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.
Dissertations and Theses - full text This link opens in a new window
PQDT offers access to 3 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 80,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.