Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Statistical Resources
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a large archive of machine-readable social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis, and resources that facilitate the use of advanced computer technology by social scientists.
- World Health OrganizationWHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. Databases on their site include the WHO Statistical Information System, Global InfoBase Online, Global Health Atlas, and Regional Statistics. Topics also include: Mortality and health, risk factors, health care systems, diseases, child health, and maternal care.
- National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new windowClearhousing for data relating to health in the United States. Access is free.
- National Education StatisticsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Research Reports
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowAccess compiled legislative histories of U.S. statues, Research Reports from the Nonpartisan Congressional Research Service (CRS) and
Committee Hearings & Testimony. You can also access Senator and Representative profiles to find including sponsored bills, remarks, and floor votes. Use the Social Media search to find out what Members and Federal agencies are posting on Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube. - NTIS This link opens in a new windowThe NTIS database consists of unclassified U.S. government-sponsored research on topics that expand the globe. An increasing proportion of the database consists of unpublished material originating outside the U.S. from Western Europe and Japan. The database contains reports going back to the 1950s, on topics such as worldwide food production, human rights, civil unrest and terrorism.
Country Overviews
- NationmasterNational statistics from countries around the world.
- Statesmen's YearbookSelect a country for an overview of geography, politics, etc.
- US Dept. of StateUse the country list to find links to major reports, press releases and more.
- World Fact BookSelect a country or location
Anthropology Websites
- Intute Web Resources - AnthropologyIntute is a free online service created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select and evaluate the websites in their database and write high quality descriptions of the resources.
- Population IndexPopulation Index is the primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
- Archaeology NewsLatest News on Archaeology finds, digs, and happenings through Archaeology Magazine.
- Science DailyLatest News on the field of Archaeology.
IGOs and NGOs
- List of IGOsFrom Northwestern University, a very thorough list of IGOs with links to their websites.
- Worldwide NGO DirectoryLocate an NGO by name or by geographical location.
- Union of International Associations Open YearbookThe UIA publishes an annual yearbook, and provide limited free access to its content online. Each entry links to a brief profile of the association,