"The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes."
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
"The GSS contains a standard "core" of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. The GSS takes the pulse of America and has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades."
"ICPSR is a membership-based, not-for-profit organization serving member colleges and universities by providing access to a large archive of machine-readable social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis, and resources that facilitate the use of advanced computer technology by social scientists."
The Center for Geographic Information and Office of Technology Partnerships recently combined efforts to form the new Center for Shared Solutions and Technology Partnerships. This combined effort will bring agencies together through common data and technology to deliver excellent products and services to all.
NationMaster is a large central data source that presents a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
"The Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations...PRB's work is funded by private foundations, government agencies, and individual donors, and [they] frequently collaborate with other nonprofit organizations and universities. To these partnerships, PRB brings broad expertise and innovative, cost-effective approaches to analysis, information sharing, and capacity building."
"The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites."
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983.
StateMaster is a unique statistical database which allows you to research and compare a multitude of different data on US states. Information has been compiled from various primary sources such as the US Census Bureau, the FBI, and the National Center for Educational Statistics
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched UNData for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
The United Nations Cyberschoolbus offers informative and interactive educational materials to a global audience. Our interactive database, InfoNation, is used to pull up accurate official and up-to-date information and statistics regarding the countries of the world.
The area of expertise of the UNECE covers such sectors as: economic cooperation and integration, energy, environment, housing and land management, population, statistics, timber, trade, and transport. UNECE has 56 member States. However, all interested UN member States may participate in its work. Over 70 international professional organizations and other non-governmental organizations take part in UNECE activities.
The Division regularly publishes data updates, including the Statistical Yearbook and World Statistics Pocketbook, and books and reports on statistics and statistical methods. The Division's databases are also available on this site.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970. Michigan Only. The Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire maps for over 100 years, repeatedly mapping towns and cities as they changed. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, construction materials, height, building use, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, house numbers, and more for cities mapped in the state of Michigan.