Liaison Librarian
Rhonda McGinnis
Contact:
Rm 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
Web Resources for Taxation and Accounting
- Federal Tax Research: Outline & Guide InformationThis wonderful Guide from NYU Law Library provides a wealth of information and links about Tax Law
- Rutgers Accounting WebProvides extensive coverage of the accounting field including links to the Big 5 and other accounting firms; U.S. and foreign CPA associations; university accounting departments; taxation, auditing and legal resources; Edgar Filings; and various accounting related agencies and organizations
- Citing Cases--Bluebook GuideAn excellent explanation from Georgetown Law Library on how to cite cases using the legal Bluebook format. It also has information one citing statutes, codes, and other legal resources. There is also a 10 minute video on how to cite cases.
General Tax Information Sites
These sites contain relatively similar federal, state, and/or international tax information. Most also contain links to federal/state tax legislation and directories of tax firms, professional associations, and publishers of print or electronic tax tools.
Statues, Regulations and Court Rulings
- Federal Tax LawFind links to current and proposed tax legislation, the US Tax Code, tax regulations, court decisions, and US tax treaties at this site.
- TRAC - IRS WebsiteThis site provides insightful findings and data on IRS enforcement activities at both the national and district levels. It is also a good source for rankings and comparative statistics on taxpayers and their burden by US county. This site requires that its users complete a free registration form.
- U.S. Income Tax LawFind U.S. and state laws, federal regulations, and Supreme Court decisions dealing with income tax law.
Specialized Tax Information
- FindLaw: Lawyers and Law FirmsThis page permits the user to search the West Directory of Lawyers and the Martindale-Hubbard Directory by name, location and/or legal specialty.
- Small Business Taxes & ManagementThis page contains links to articles on taxes, management, personal financial planning published in the Small Business Tax Review. It also provides a variety of tax related reference tables such as corporate and individual tax rates, standard vehicle mileage and lease rates, fringe benefit amounts/limits, and a valuation guide for charitable contributions of property.
- Payroll TaxesThis site contains extensive data regarding federal and state payroll taxes and taxing authorities. It also provides all the addresses, phone numbers, form numbers (with explanations), and filing dates for federal and state agencies.
Reference Works
Tax Forms and Publications
- 1040.comThis page is a good alternative to the IRS site especially during tax time. Current and 1922-1995 prior year forms and publications are available. It also allows users to access state tax forms and instructions from across the country.
- IRS-Forms and PublicationsThis page, provided by the Internal Revenue Service, lets you download, not only, current federal tax forms and publications but also 1992-1995 prior year tax forms.