A collection of 40 original essays written by leading scholars in the field, dedicated to exploring the question of what 'Latino/a' is. Offers a timely reference to the issues, topics, and approaches to the study of US Latinos. Explores the depth of creative scholarship in this field, including theories of latinisimo, immigration, political and economic perspectives, education, race/class/gender and sexuality, language, and religion Considers areas of broader concern, including history, identity, public representations, cultural expression and racialization (including African and Native American heritage).

A landmark scholarly work, offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation. Over 900 A to Z articles ranging in length from 500 words to 7,500 words written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

Four volumes: Literature and Art, Sociology, Anthropology, and History.

Offers detailed analyses of the past, present, and future of Spanish and Hispanic culture in the US, highlighting the demolinguistic reality of the diverse Spanish-speaking groups living in the US. Includes over 170 photographs, and more than 190 maps, graphs and tables.

This work provides profiles of both prominent and important but less-familiar people who have made significant contributions in their fields.

Records the contribution of women of Latin American birth or heritage to the economic and cultural development of the United States.

This biographical reference source fills a distinct gap in multicultural collections by offering profiles of approximately 470 noteworthy Hispanic men and women from the 15th century to the present.

Over 922 entries on significant events, figures, laws, and other historical items, this reference work covers the fight for equality from the mid-nineteenth century to the present by the various Hispanic groups in the U.S.

Provides over 300 statistical charts, graphs, and tables on demographics, immigration, naturalization, social characteristics, education, health, politics, labor force, and economic conditions. Published in 1991, so it will be a good source for data up to that point.

An essential reference for comprehensive and detailed coverage of Latin American history, this book is divided into three parts: Part I, a descriptive chronology of key event from pre-Columbian times to the present; Part II, a thematic survey of topics, tracing population expansion, legal/political development, economic change, social evolution, science and technology, and cultural development across time; Part III, a biographical section containing over 300 biographies of individuals introduced in earlier sections of the book. Meticulously indexed and cross-referenced, this accessible resource also includes more than thirty historical maps.

Surveys the recent historiography of the colonial era, independence movements, and postcolonial periods and span Mexico, Spanish South America, and Brazil.

Three volumes offer more than 4000 entries on all aspects of the dynamic and exciting contemporary cultures of Latin America and the Caribbean. Its coverage is unparalleled with more than 40 regions discussed and a time-span of 1920 to the present day.

This guide gives a brief and accessible overview of the whole of Latin American Studies. Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.

A fundamental reference for understanding the terminology of the field. This comprehensive volume explains and contextualizes fifty-four key terms and theories, including some general concepts in cultural studies as they relate to research in Latin America, and some specific to the field of Latin American studies.

Provides information about Latin American and Caribbean leaders over the past two centuries. Each entry describes the subject's political significance as well as their career, family background, education, and relevant nonpolitical activities.

The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedianbsp;is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.