Key Databases - Shiffman - Physician Assistant Studies Guide - Research Guides at Wayne State University

Clinial Information Databases

UptoDate Online This link opens in a new window UpToDate is a comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource composed of topic reviews which are written by physician authors. The topic reviews go through an extensive peer review process to ensure accuracy and reliability. UpToDate is designed to provide health care providers with concise, practical answers to medical questions at the point of care. Patrons are required to register for a free personal account to use UpToDate. The account will become inactive if it is not used for 30 days.
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window
Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey is a comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals in making sound medication decisions by providing the fastest access to the most current, accurate and clinically relevant drug information.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window DynaMed is a next-generation clinical information resource, offering up-to-date, evidence-based medical information.

VisualDx A diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Full text access to select health science textbooks, journals, procedural videos, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials with particular emphasis on medicine and surgery.

Merck Manual Professional Providing the reliable medical information of the day to medical professionals, students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.

Additional Resources for PAS

Resources below are selected for PAS students and faculty. We welcome your comments and suggestions.

Article Databases

PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new window PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is an online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
Scopus This link opens in a new window "Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window EMBASE (Excerpta Medica Database) covers worldwide literature, especially from Europe, in the field of biomedical and health sciences with special emphasis given to drug research, pharmacology, pharmacy, pharmacoeconomics, toxicology, basic biological research, etc.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Consists chiefly of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE) Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) Cochrane database of methodology reviews Cochrane methodology register Health technology assessment database (HTA) and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Shiffman - Physician Assistant Studies Guide

Clinial Information Databases

Additional Resources for PAS

Article Databases

Videos

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Community

Sign In

Shiffman - Physician Assistant Studies Guide

Clinial Information Databases

Additional Resources for PAS

Article Databases

Videos

Community

Sign In