These "Best Bets" are large academic databases and include citations on most topics. Skip to the boxes below for more subject-specific options, such as History, Humanities, Newspapers, Social Sciences, etc.
This database contains the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals, mostly in the English language. Many entries link to the full-text of articles. Include the name of a language or country to get articles about it.
An index to literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal articles, essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Currently includes the years 1963 through 1982. The complete database will eventually cover the years 1890 through 1982, and will reflect the history of 20th century America.
Audio tracks of classical music, historical recordings, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.If you are prompted for a user name, Wayne's maximum number of users has been reached, and you will have to try again later.
Over 100,000 images relevant to the study of art, architecture, history, literature, anthropology, etc. Users can create and save presentations and slideshows for classroom use, embed images and presentations in Blackboard, and search images from the popular photo-sharing site Flickr.
One of the largest and most important image archives for the teaching of art history, this collection includes important works from over one hundred museums, including the Louvre, the Musée d'Orsay, the Uffizi, the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum in Vienna, the National Museums in Athens, Rome, and Stockholm, and museums in Berlin. Users can easily create presentations and slideshows with these images.
Considered "the U.S. newspaper of record," the New York Times includes international news. Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Note that advertisements can also provide important insights into history.
A large archive of machine-readable social science data, training facilities in basic and advanced techniques of quantitative social analysis, and resources that facilitate the use of advanced computer technology by social scientists.
Official full-text repository for documents published by the United Nations dating back to 1992 in all official languages of the United Nations - Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. The UN Documentation database includes documents back to 1992 and the UN Resolutions database includes resolutions back to 1946.
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!