Pinocchio in lingua italiana
- Le avventure di Pinocchio, storia di un burattino. Illustrata da E. Mazzanti e G. Magni. (16a ed.) byCall Number: [electronic book]Publication Date: Firenze, R. Bemporad & figlio, etc.1899Freely available through Hathitrust.org.
NOTE: To search inside this book, click on the title and the Hathitrust site itself will present you with a search box in the upper right corner. You can also select "View the Full Catalog Record" on the left, to obtain a suggested (machine-generated) citation.
Databases - Best Bets!
- SummonSummon is a library discovery tool. It allows you to search almost all of the library's full-text resources simultaneously. Summon can be a good place to start your search.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
- Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineNineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitized collection of primary sources related to the nineteenth century. Materials within the collection consist of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global provides expanded access to international scholarly works from Europe and China in addition to the more than three million citations and one million full-text theses and dissertations found in the general ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
Catalogs (Books, Streaming Video, DVD's, Journal Titles, etc.)
- WSU Library CatalogUse the WSU catalog to locate electronic and print books from the WSU collections. Includes films, images, scores, journal titles, etc.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- MeLCat (Michigan Electronic Library Catalog)Michigan's shared library catalog allows you to request loans from other libraries. When they arrive, you'll be contacted by e-mail to come pick them up. There can be many records for the same item and you may have to look through several to find an "available" item to request.
- WorldCatA large shared catalog of items in libraries all over the world. May include archives, depositories, images, articles, links, etc. To request an item, click on "Get It@WSU," then the big blue "Request Full Text" button, then login to ILLiad with your WSU AccessID and Password, and the data describing your request will appear in the form (which you must complete and submit).
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryA vast repository of digitized content from academic collections worldwide, with fulltext access to materials in the public domain. (Materials digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft, as well as through in-house initiatives).
- Suggest a TitleYour professor may suggest that the library purchase a title that it does not own and that you need for your project.
You are encouraged to borrow (or suggest for purchase) the titles you need. If you DO purchase a title for your research, consider donating it to the libraries, where we'll make it available for others to use, too!
Suggestions for Further Reading
A Rugged Nation: Mountains and the making of modern Italy: nineteenth and twentieth centuries by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks GB 542 .I8 A76 2011ISBN: 1874267642Publication Date: Cambridge, UK: White Horse, 2011.Landscape, politics and history: the Italian mountains as a crucible of national and natural identity. This book is part of a wider current in environmental history, that explores the links between nature and nation.
Making and Remaking Italy: the cultivation of national identity around the Risorgimento by Call Number: [Request through MeL]ISBN: 1859734472Publication Date: Oxford: Berg, 2001.This important new book considers many of the ways in which national identity was imagined, implemented and contested within Italian culture before, during and after the period of Italian unification in the mid-nineteenth century.
Il Risorgimento italiano (1. ed.) by Call Number: [Request through ILL; NOTE ON REQUEST: WorldCat #54438134)]ISBN: 8842071749Publication Date: Roma : GLF editori Laterza. 2004.University of Michigan owns. Hatcher Graduate Library 5 South, Call Number: DG 551 .B241 2004
Italy in the Nineteenth Century: 1796-1900 by Call Number: [Request through MeL]ISBN: 0198731280Publication Date: Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2000.This volume covers the period from the French Revolution to the end of the Nineteenth Century. Consisting of nine essays written by leading British and American historians, the volume shows how Italy's unexpected political unification and independence were inseparable from the impact of broader processes of modernization.
A Concise History of Italy by Call Number: Purdy Kresge Stacks: DG 467 .D84 1994ISBN: 9780521402859Publication Date: Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1994.This concise history, which covers the period from the fall of the Roman empire in the west to the present day, looks in particular at the difficulties Italy has faced during the last two centuries in forging a nation state.
The Force of Destiny: A history of Italy since 1796 by Call Number: [Request through MeL]ISBN: 9780618353675Publication Date: Boston: Houghton Mifflin. 2008.In this sweeping history of the creation of modern Italy. Christopher Duggan skillfully interweaves Italy's art, music, literature, and architecture with its economic and social realities and political development to tell this extraordinary European story. The first English-language book to cover the full scope of modern Italy, this volume is a brilliant and comprehensive study -- and a frightening example of how easily nation-building and nationalism can slip toward authoritarianism and war.
Social Bodies: Science, reproduction and Italian modernity by Call Number: [Electronic Book; also Purdy-Kresge Stacks: GN 298 .H67 1994]ISBN: 9781400821457Publication Date: Princeton: Princeton University Press. 1994.Using as his example post-World War I Italy and the government's interest in the size, growth rate, and "vitality" of its national population, David Horn suggests a genealogy for our present understanding of procreation as a site for technological intervention and political contestation. This reconstitution of bodies through the sciences and technologies of the social, Horn argues, continues to have material consequences for women and men throughout the West.
Italy in the Age of Pinocchio: Children and danger in the liberal era by Call Number: [Electronic Book and Purdy-Kresge Stacks: HV 774 .A6 I67 2006]ISBN: 1403973016Publication Date: New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.This book tells the story of Italy's forgotten children at the end of the nineteenth century - foundlings, street children, factory and mine workers, emigrants and delinquents - and illustrates the efforts of the recently unified Italian state to help them.
Italia addio? : unità e disunità dal 1860 ad oggi by Call Number: [Request through ILL; NOTE WorldCat #32313774]ISBN: 8804384220Publication Date: Bologna: Il Mulino, 2012.University of Michigan, Hatcher 5 South: DG 555 .L47x 1994
Storia d'Italia dall'Unita a oggi by Call Number: [Request through ILL; NOTE WorldCat #232963490]ISBN: 9788815125385Publication Date: Bologna: Il Mulino, 2008.University of Michigan Hatcher Graduate Library 5 South: DG 555 .L47 2008
The Risorgimento Revisited: Nationalism and Culture in Nineteenth-Century Italy by Call Number: [Electronic Book DDA]ISBN: 9780230248007Publication Date: New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.Bringing together the work of a ground-breaking group of scholars working on the Italian Risorgimento to consider how modern Italian national identity was first conceived and constructed politically, the book makes a timely contribution to current discussions about the role of patriotism and the nature of nationalism in present-day Italy.
The Pinocchio Effect: On making Italians (1860-1930) by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: DG 442 .S74 2007ISBN: 9780226774480Publication Date: Chicago: University of Chicago, 2008.This volume features deft readings of the period's most important Italian cultural and social thinkers, including the theorist of mass psychology Scipio Sighele, the authors Matilde Serao and Edmondo De Amicis, the criminologist Cesare Lombroso, and the pedagogue Maria Montessori, this richly multidisciplinary book will set a new standard in Italian studies.
Carlo Collodi: a cura di Bice Marchetti Chini by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: PQ 4712 .L4 Z7 1967Publication Date: Firenze: Le Monnier, 1967.Series: Saggi critici di letteratura giovanile
Pinocchio in English, 1909
- Adventures every child should know : The marvelous adventures of Pinocchio / by Carlo Lorenzini. byCall Number: [Digitized Book]Publication Date: New York : Doubleday, Page, 1909.WSU Libraries has digitized this 1909 English translation, Edited by Mary E. Burt from an original translation by Augustus G. Caprani ; illustrated and decorated by Emily Hall Chamberlin.
Pinocchio - Digitized Illustrated Editions (alas - in English!)
These links to cataloging records in Wayne State's Library are from the Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) database. These reproductions are from originals in the Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida.
These NCCO database links provide Citation Tools, the ability to download specific pages or the entire text, word frequencies across collections and within books, and other features to explore.
- 1928. K. Wiese, illus; M.A. Murray, trans.Published by Thomas Nelson and Sons, New York. 1928.
- 1923. Frederick Richardson, illus; Sidney G. Firman, ed.Published by John C. Winston Company, Philadelphia, Chicago. 1923.
- 1916. Alice Carsey, illus.Published by the Whitman Publishing Company, Racine, Wisconsin. 1916.
- 19--? Charles Folkard, illus; M.A. Murray, trans.Published by David McKay Company, Philadelphia. 19--?
- 1892. C. Mazzanti, illus; M.A. Murray, trans.Published by T. Fisher Unwin, London. 1892.
First edition in English.
Useful Tools
Dictionaries and Language Tools
Grande dizionario della lingua Italiana (21 vols.) by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Oversize (4th Floor): PC 1625 .B3Publication Date: Torino: Unione tipografico-editrice torinese, 1961-Contents: v. 1-21. -- Indice degli autori citati nei volumi I-IX. -- Supplemento 2004. -- Indice degli autori citati nei volumi I-XXI e nel supplemento 2004.
Dizionario Combinatorio Compatto Italiano by Call Number: [Electronic Book - DDA]ISBN: 9789027211934Publication Date: Amsterdam, Philadelphia: John Benjamins Pub. Co. 2012.Every language has its own preferences in word combinations, misleading a non-native learner into making mistakes influenced by his own language. This dictionary reconstructs the frame to which 3,000 Italian entries belong and aims to help non-Italian speakers with an advanced linguistic competence to find the appropriate word combinations for communicating in Italian.
Dizionario Enciclopedico Italiano by Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: AE 35 .D516 (12 vols.)Publication Date: Roma: Istituto della Enciclopedia Italiana, 1955-1961.
Enciclopedia italiana di scienze, lettere ed arti (36 vols. + Appendices) by Call Number: Purdy-Kreesge Stacks: AE 35 .E5Publication Date: Roma: Istituto Giovanni Treccani, 1929-39.
Folktales and Fairy Tales by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781610692533Publication Date: Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2016.Encyclopedic in its coverage, this one-of-a-kind reference is ideal for students, scholars, and others who need reliable, up-to-date information on folk and fairy tales, past and present.
Useful Essay Enrichment
- University of Chicago Theories of Media Keywords GlossaryUseful list of theories and concepts to enrich your writing, inspire ideas, and provide in-depth explanations for oft-used, but sometimes hard-to-grasp, writing terminology.
MLA Style Tools & Citation Managers
- Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide"MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.
- Citing Primary Sources: MLALibrary of Congress instructions for and examples of citations of primary source materials: Web Sites, Cartoons, Maps, Photographs, Films, and more.
- MLA Paper Format Using MS Word 2010/2013Video demonstrating step-by-step instructions. Developed by the University of South Dakota's Writing Center. You can also use the "References" tab to set the style to MLA; then click on "Insert Citations," to Add New Sources or insert in-text citation; and then click on "Bibliography" to create your References list.
- Using ZoteroZotero is free app you can use to organize your citations and PDFs. It also integrates with Word and other word processing software to help you properly format in-text citations and reference lists.
Websites
- Puppetry Resources Research GuideCompiled by Steve Harvey of the University of Maryland Libraries.
- The Italian American Experience Research GuideCompiled by Sarah How of Cornell University Libraries