Legal Databases
Use the Article Databases tab to access databases by name or subject.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowAccess to legal journals, historical texts, current and historical state and federal legislation and administrative materials.
- Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new windowU.S. Congressional documents including bill text, Congressional Record, hearings, reports, prints and legislative information.
Legal Citation
- Citeus LegalusAn automated legal citation generator.
- How to Read a Legal OpinionOrin Kerr's essay - a guide for new law students:
'It explains what judicial opinions are, how they are structured, and what law students should look for when reading them.'
Legal Periodicals
- ABA Legal Technology Resource CenterFree full-text online law review + journal search (selected titles)
- Index to legal periodicals & books This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This database contains materials from 1981 to the present. For earlier materials, see Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective.
- Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective This link opens in a new windowThis database contains materials from 1908 to 1981. For more recent materials, see Index to Legal Periodicals & Books. Access restricted to the law library and law school.
- Law Review Commons'The largest collection of free and open law review scholarship.'
- Legal Source (WSU Affiliates) This link opens in a new windowProviding indexing and full-text coverage of the most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source is the authoritative database for current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. It is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law.
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new windowContains information on currently published as well as discontinued periodicals. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications.
Legal Research Guides
- Justia.com >Virtual Chase >Information Quality'Researchers should evaluate the quality of information appearing online or in print based on five criteria--scope of coverage, authority, objectivity, accuracy and timeliness.'
- LLSDC's Legislative SourcebookFederal and state legislative research guides, explanations, resource links and tables from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.
- Library of Congress > Guide to Law Online'The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online.'
- The NBER/Maryland State Constitutions Project'[A] portal to the texts of the state constitutions of the United States.'
- State Constitutional Documents (Rutgers Law Library) "This collection contains the Constitutions, Constitutional Convention records, and other related documents for the constitutions of the 50 United States. ...To access the collection, either select a state to browse the available documents, or search the documents in full text. Please note that the collection consists of scanned page images."
- State Legislative History Guides'An index of state legislatures and legislative history research guides that are available on the Web'.
- U.S. ConstitutionPrimary documents in American history.