Subject of the Month

A monthly display featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.

December 2015

 

Peace and Love Tie Dye Sign

 

Selectors: Mike Hawthorne and Emily Brush

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”

- Martin Luther King Jr., A Testament of Hope: The Essential Writings and Speeches

November 2015 Paris Attacks - Demonstrations of Peace and Love

"Peace for Paris," Jean Jullien

Paris and Beirut woke up to messages of solidarity from around the world, after activists pasted letters of support on walls in the two cities, one week after the attacks. Video shot by Travis Beard in Lebanon and Avaaz in France.

Journals & Databases

Nobel Peace Prize

Medallion

The Nobel Peace Prize is an international prize which is awarded annually by the Norwegian Nobel Committee according to guidelines laid down in Alfred Nobel's will. The Peace Prize is one of five prizes that have been awarded annually since 1901 for outstanding contributions in the fields of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and peace.

Nobel Peace Prize, The Norwegian Nobel Institute 

Ralph Bunche received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1950 for having arranged a cease-fire between Israelis and Arabs during the war which followed the creation of the state of Israel in 1948. He was also involved in the formation and administration of the United Nations.

http://clas.wayne.edu/Multimedia/CPCS/images/Bunche%20Logo.jpg

Ralph Bunche Summer Institute, Damon J. Keith Center for Civil Rights

Martin Luther King Jr. displays his 1964 Nobel Peace Prize medal. AP/Wide World Photos. Reproduced by permission.

Martin Luther King Jr. accepting the Nobel Peace Prize in 1964
"King Jr., Martin Luther," The Sixties in America Reference Library, 2005. From U.S. History in Context

Betty Williams and  Mairead Corrigan

Betty Williams and Mairead Corrigan received the 1976 Nobel Peace Prize for founding Community of Peace People, an organization dedicated to promoting a peaceful resolution to the Troubles in Northern Ireland.

"Heroines of Peace - The Nine Nobel Women," Irwin Abrams, nobelprize.org

the Peace PEOPLE

The 14th Dalai Lama received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1989  for his consistent resistance to the use of violence in his struggle to end Chinese domination of his homeland, Tibet.

Long road: Nelson Mandela (L) and  F.W.De Klerk (R)
posing for a photograph with medals and diplomas as they share the Nobel Peace Price 1993

"The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 1993 to Nelson R. Mandela and Frederik Willem de Klerk for their work for the peaceful termination of the apartheid regime, and for laying the foundations for a new, democratic South Africa."

"Announcement," Nobel Peace Prize for 1993, Norwegian Nobel Committee

"The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2004 to Wangari Maathai for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace. Peace on earth depends on our ability to secure our living environment. Maathai stands at the front of the fight to promote ecologically viable social, economic and cultural development in Kenya and in Africa. She has taken a holistic approach to sustainable development that embraces democracy, human rights and women's rights in particular. She thinks globally and acts locally."

"Announcement," The Nobel Peace Prize for 2004, The Norwegian Nobel Committee

"The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided that the Nobel Peace Prize for 2014 is to be awarded to Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education."

"Announcement," The Nobel Peace Prize for 2014, Norwegian Nobel Committee

WSU Center for Peace and Conflict Studies

The mission of the Center for Peace & Conflict Studies is to develop and implement projects, programs, curricula, research, and publications in areas of scholarship related to international and domestic peace, war, social justice, arms control, globalization, multicultural awareness and constructive conflict resolution.

"About the Center," Wayne State University Center for Peace & Conflict Studies, College of Liberal Arts

Community Conflict Resolution Services

The WSU Center for Peace and Conflict Studies proudly offers community conflict resolution services, particularly relevant to the areas of: 1) public policy, 2) neighborhood and school conflict, and 3) violence prevention.

For more information, please contact Dr. Fred Pearson, Director for the Center for Peace and Conflict Studies  ab3440@wayne.edu.

Music

"All You Need is Love," Baby, You're a Rich Man. The Beatles (1967).

"What a Wonderful World," Cabaret. Louis Armstrong (1967).

"Give Peace a Chance," John Lennon. Recorded 1 June 1969, Room 1742, Queen Elizabeth Hotel, Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

"Peace Train," Where do the Children Play? B Side. Cat Stevens. (1971).

"Imagine," Imagine A Side. John Lennon (1971).

"We Are the World" is a song and charity single originally recorded by the supergroup USA for Africa in 1985. Written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie.

Picture of the Display

 

The Peace Symbol

"Dreamers," Graduation day at Indiana University - June 1971.
View more photos from The Peace Symbol's 50th Anniversary below.

Take a trip through the decades with National Geographic to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the peace symbol, based on a new book by Ken Kolsbun, available at http://www.nationalgeographic.com/books.

Reconciliation & Forgiveness

Jane Addams Children's Book Award

Jane Addams was a world renowned social worker. Most connected with her work in Chicago with Hull House, she worked for peace and freedom, justice and equality tirelessly in many arenas her entire, very long life. Jane Addams won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1931. She was the first American woman to win this prestigious award. She is considered by many to be the "mother " of modern social work.

"Jane Addams," Jane Addams Peace Association

Mildred Jeffrey Collection of Peace and Conflict Resolution

"Lady Bird Johnson, Millie Jeffrey, Labor Day, 1964" 
Walter P. Reuther Library Tony Spina Collection - Portraits

Named for the labor-movement activist Mildred Jeffrey, the Mildred Jeffrey Collection of Peace and Conflict Resolution was donated to the WSU Libraries in 1990. Adult materials were interfiled throughout the regular collection, while children's books have been kept together on the fourth floor of the Purdy/Kresge Library. This collection focuses on the issues of international peace, conflict resolution, human rights, environmental studies, and social justice. The Jeffrey Collection is under continuing development and is currently being expanded to include non-print materials. Growth of this collection is supported by the proceeds of the Mildred Jeffrey Peace and Conflict Collection Fund.

Spread Love

Looking for ways to spread peace and love in your community? Consider becoming involved in these local and national charities and organizations: