Subject of the Month

A monthly display featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.

Written by faculty from the Center for Latino/a and Latin American Studies

SEPTEMBER 2020

Selectors: Ida Martinez and Serena Vaquilar


Hispanic Heritage Week began in 1968 and was expanded in 1988 to span 30 days in September and October. It is a time to recognize and celebrate the histories, cultures, and contributions of American citizens descended from Spain, the Caribbean, Central and  South America, and Mexico.

To fully celebrate Latinos in the U.S. today, it's important to get a full understanding of their history:

Kanopy Streaming Videos

Wayne State students, faculty, and staff can stream these videos available in Kanopy

On the Web

Hispanic Reading Room Exhibits and Digital Collections (Library of Congress)

Smithsonian Latino Center

Hispanic Heritage Month 2020 Statistics (U.S. Census)

Key Facts About U.S. Hispanics and Their Diverse Heritage (Pew Research Center)

Hispanic Heritage Month 2020 Collection Highlights (National Archives)

PBS Specials for Hispanic Heritage Month (Streaming Video)

Latino Stories (promotes Latino literature and resources)


Image credit: "Elsa Mantilla, Aurora Goicoechea and Milagros Cueto." Subjects: Dominican Americans. Dressmaking. Working in Paterson Project Collection, 1993-2002 (AFC 1995/028), American Folklife Center, Library of Congress.

Special and Archival Collections

Note: These resources are only available on-site at the Reuther Library or the Purdy/Kresge Library. The Reuther Library is allowing research visits by appointment during the fall semester. The Purdy/Kresge Library is closed. Updates regarding library access can be found here.

eBooks: Selected Recent Titles

Wayne State students, faculty, and staff can access the following titles. WSU AccessID and password required.

Featured Recent Latino Literature

Databases and Journals

The Latino American Experience
Wide-ranging and easy to use, LAE is the first full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.


Journals:

Hispanic American Historical Review
"Pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the U.S. and remains the most widely-respected journal in the field." - Duke University Press

Latino Studies
"Explores Latino/a culture at the local, national, transnational and hemispheric levels; Includes páginas recuperadas, celebrating influential people and events in Latino/a culture; Illuminates the struggles of Latino/as for equality, representation, and social justice. - Palgrave Macmillan

Latino Policy & Issues Brief
Offers findings from research that are of interest to Chicana/o and Latina/o communities. From UCLA's Chicano Studies Research Center.

Journal of Latino/Latin American Studies
An interdisciplinary, international, and peer reviewed on-line journal housed at the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

Arizona Journal of Hispanic Cultural Studies
"Since 1997, the Arizona Journal of Hispanic Cultural Studies has been publishing insightful essays on the relationships between market forces, politics and culture in Spain, Latin America, Africa, Asia and the Chicano and Latino United States." - AJHCS