Welcome
The Cass Corridor and the surrounding Wayne State community have a rich cultural heritage in art, poetry, music and politics. Explore it here!
Blogs
The Photographs of Leni Sinclair - John Sinclair writes about meeting his wife Leni and their early days in Detroit
Underground Press
The Warren-Forest Sun - Although these entries are listed as being from the "Ann Arbor Sun", the earlier entries are from its predecessor, the Warren-Forest Sun. They includes advertisements for the Grande Ballroom, updates on activities from the Artists' Workshop, reviews of MC5 concerts, and other day-to-day campus activities. --From the Ann Arbor District Library's digital collection, "Freeing John Sinclair".
The Fifth Estate - Founded by Harvey Ovshinsky in 1965, this was among the first of the underground newspapers of the 1960's. --From the University of Michigan's Labadie Collection, "Fifth Estate Records 1967-2003".
Mobile Access
Scan to access the mobile version of this guide with your Smartphone.
At WSU's Undergraduate Library
Cass Corridor Culture: In and Around Wayne State, 1960s - 1980s
See examples of Cass Corridor artwork from the University Art Collection; samples of published broadsides and bookmarks, and original art from the libraries' Alternative Press Collection archive; a large wall panel of poems by Detroit's poets; and music ephemera including a display of Grande Ballroom postcards.
Located on the 3rd floor of the Undergraduate Library. Collaboration of the Wayne State University Art Collection and Wayne State University Libraries.
Experience the art, poetry, music, and culture of the Cass Corridor through Ken Mikolowski's essay, "Time and Place: Art of Detroit's Cass Corridor from the Wayne State University Collection". It can also be viewed on the third floor of the Adamany Undergraduate library.
- Time and Place: Art of Detroit’s Cass Corridor from the Wayne State University CollectionThis document, produced through the WSU CFPCA as part of 2009 exhibition, highlights some work and gives some context for works by Cass Corridor artists in the WSU collection.
Images from the Cass Corridor
Cobb's Corner, from the Virtual Motor City Collection
View other images from the Cass Corridor in the Virtual Motor City Collection.
Tribes of the Cass Corridor
Tribes of the Cass Corridor is a website that informally documents the various people, places, and threads of the Cass Corridor Culture, including discussion forums, commentary, and reader contributions. It contains email links to many figures involved in the area over the past several decades.
From the Library
Up from the Streets by ISBN: 0971097313Publication Date: 2001-08-01Up From the Streets had its inception in a donation by James F. Duffy Jr. to Wayne State University consisting of more than one hundred works of art by artists associated with the Cass Corridor movement.
On the Ground: An Illustrated Anecdotal History of the Sixties Underground Press in the U.S. by ISBN: 9781604866582Publication Date: 2011-12-01A history of 60's underground presses.- Time and Place: Art of Detroit's Cass Corridor from the Wayne State University Collection byCall Number: Purdy-Kresge Library Closed Oversize N 6512 .E33 2009Publication Date: 2009
Detroit's Cass Corridor by ISBN: 9780738582689Publication Date: 2012-02-06See the history of the neighborhood in pictures.- City of Art and City of ArtistPublication Date: between 1960 and 1966Three speakers, Walter Midener, Sarkis Sarkisian, and Aldon Smith, discuss the importance of art education in the schools and the role of art and artists in improving communities. [sound recording]
