Select libraries will be open on September 1 to Wayne State students, faculty and staff. See what services we're offering online and in person

Shiffman - Library Services for DMC-WSU Residents

Health Information Resources

Your WSU AccessID & Password are required to access the following resources remotely.

Clinical Decision Support & Point of Care:

AccessMedicine
A repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles. Includes images and is a good source for pill identification. Links to AccessSurgery and USMLEasy.

AccessSurgery
AccessSurgery provides a variety of resources needed to excel in surgery clerkship; instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading surgical textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning and practicing surgeons can brush up on their medical knowledge when studying for their Maintenance of Certification Exam.

ClinicalKey
ClincalKey's smart search technologies delivers fast, clinically relevant answers from all medical specialists.

National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
A public resource and comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. The NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

UpToDate
A comprehensive, expert-based clinical information resource composed of topic reviews which are written by physician authors. The topic reviews go through an extensive peer-review process to ensure accuracy and reliability. UpToDate is designed to provide health care providers with concise, practical answers to medical questions at the point of care and is a good resource for drug interactions.


Evidence-Based Medicine:

ACP Smart Medicine in Stat!Ref 
ACP Smart Medicine is an evidence-based clinical guidance tool designed for rapid access to clinical information at the point of care. ACP Smart Medicine includes recommendations based on all levels of medical evidence including RCTs, cohort and observational studies, case reports, and expert opinion.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews provide the combined results of the world's best medical research studies and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.

JAMAevidence
Fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses.


Patient Education:

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is an authoritative source for reliable consumer health information, with extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources. Including over 750 topics for diseases and conditions, medications, illustrations, surgery videos and links to local resources through the National Library of Medicine's Go Local project. Consumers and health professionals alike can depend on information that is authoritative and up to date.


Medical Literature/Journal Articles:

PubMed@Wayne
PubMed MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles from the 1950s to the present in the life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.In addition, PubMed Clinical Queries provides specialized PubMed searches for clinicians, including: Search by Clinical Study Category, Finding Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics Searches.

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Web of Science
Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).