How to Use Zotero Guide
Databases - Best Bets!
- CAIRNThis open-access database includes fulltext to many French-language journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- ARTFL project, University of Chicago This link opens in a new windowFull-text retrieval databases of classical French writings, reference resources, bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, periodicals, pamphlets, and ARTFL newsletters. Databases include literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises. Coverage starts with 12th century.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
- PerseeOpen access articles in the sciences and humanities
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
MLA Style Tools
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style GuideThis resource offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
- MLA Reference Examples HandoutFrom the Wayne State University Libraries. May be printed and downloaded.
- Citation Style ChartA handy side-by-side comparison of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
- The Writer's Handbook: MLA Documentation GuideThe University of Wisconsin - Madison provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the style outlined by the 2009 MLA Handbook.
- Research and Documentation Online: HumanitiesAn online resource for using MLA style.
- Citing Primary Sources: MLALibrary of Congress instructions for and examples of citations of primary source materials: Web Sites, Cartoons, Maps, Photographs, Films, and more.
Overall Strategy to get Books and Articles
Books:
1. Search Title of Book in WSU's Catalog
- Print & E-Books
2. Click on MeL button
- Request through MeL
- Start Over searching MeL by Title or Author
- there may be other records!
3. ILLiad to Interlibrary Loan Books
Articles:
1. Search Journal Title in WSU's Catalog
2. Request this item
- click through from database citation
- use Citation Linker (under Resources)
- Interlibrary Loan (login to ILLiad and fill in fields)
Databases to Explore
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOver 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
- British Humanities Index This link opens in a new windowAn international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities.
- Dissertations and Theses - Full TextDoctoral dissertations (and some masters theses) from all over the world. Full text frequently available. Excellent bibliographies.
- FIAF international film archive database This link opens in a new windowContains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- International index to television periodicals, 1979- List of periodicals indexed Treasures from the film archives International directory of film and TV documentation collections and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
- Humanities & social sciences index retrospective, 1907-1984. This link opens in a new windowThis database offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson's International Index. Combine this valuable resource with other Wilson databases such as Humanities Full Text and/or Social Sciences Full Text for a century of research in hundreds of journals.
Liaison Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094