Spanish Resources
- Latino Encyclopedia UGL Reference E 184 .S75 L357 1996 (6 volumes)Includes bibliographical references and index.
- Publicacions en espanol (Spanish publications) - Latest Edition in Purdy/Kresge Reference GP 3.22/2:130/U.S. Government documents in Spanish. Link to online resource here, too.
- Spanish American authors : the twentieth century UGL Reference PQ 7081.3 .F57 1992Biographies of 20th century Spanish American authors
- Reference Library of Hispanic America, Purdy/Kresge Reference E 184 .S75 R44 1993 (3 volumes)Based upon The Hispanic-American Almanac published by Gale Research Inc., this guide covers biography, history, and social life and customs.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies, Purdy/Kresge Reference Z 1605 .H23 no. 65 2010Each year, volumes alternate coverage between social sciences and humanities.
- Spanish-American literature; a history - Purdy/Kresge Reference PQ 7081 .A56342 (2 volumes)Literary history and criticism. Translation of "Historia de la literatura hispanoamericana."
- Twentieth-century Spanish poets, Purdy Basement Literature Research Collection PQ 6085 .T88 1991 OVERSIZEDictionary of literary biography (Gale), Vol. 108.
- Twentieth-century Spanish poets, Second Series Purdy Basement Literature Research Collection PQ 6085 .T88 1994Dictionary of literary biography, Vol. 134.
- Modern Spanish American poets. First series. Purdy Basement Literature Research Collection PQ 7082 .P7 M53 2003 OVERSIZEAuthor entries are listed in catalog record. Also includes bibliographical references and index.
- Veinticuatro diarios. Madrid, 1830-1900; articulos y noticias de escritores espanoles del siglo XIX, Purdy Basement Indexes AI 17 .M3 t.1-4Index to 19th-century Spanish newspapers.
General Reference Tools
These general reference tools are a great place to start your research, explore your topic, and point you towards interesting issues within a field. More specific reference tools (i.e. Biography, Conference Proceedings, etc.) can be found below.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Closed Collection - full text This link opens in a new windowPQDT offers access to 3 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 80,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Grolier OnlineGrolier's multimedia encyclopedia online includes the Encyclopedia Americana.
Biography and People
- Biography Resource CenterFull-text biographical information about people throughout history from many respected reference resources and 250 periodicals. Search for people by nationality, ethnicity, gender, etc. Includes entries from the "Complete Marquis Who's Who."
Liaison Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094