(Image from https://www.wrike.com/blog/expert-tips-to-get-your-team-to-collaborate-effectively/)

WSU librarians offer two tiers of Evidence Synthesis Review services: consultation or collaboration. If you would like a librarian to assist your evidence synthesis review (such as a systematic review), please complete the form to request a meeting with a librarian. We will respond to your request within three business days.

Consultation

A typical consultation is a one-hour session and covers the following topics:

• Librarian explains the evidence synthesis review process.
• Librarian suggests which databases to search.
• Librarian demonstrates a basic literature search in a selected database and methods for identifying search terms.
• Librarian demonstrates how to create a detailed search strategy using Boolean operators and field codes.
• Librarian explains how to organize and de-duplicate search results.
• Librarian demonstrates how to obtain full-text articles.

Librarians also provide follow-up consultations should the review team have additional questions while completing the review.

​Collaboration (librarian is a co-author on resulting conference abstract(s) and publication)

• Librarian helps refine the research question.
• Librarian participates in defining inclusion and exclusion criteria.
• Librarian creates detailed search strategies for multiple databases.
• Librarian runs searches in databases.
• Librarian performs other methods of identifying relevant studies (e.g., grey literature search, conference abstract and proceedings search, hand-searching)
• Librarian organizes and de-duplicates search results.
• Librarian keeps detailed records of the search process and its outcomes.
• Depending on their subject expertise, librarian participates in title/abstract or full-text screening.
• Librarian acquires full-text articles.
• Librarian writes relevant parts of the Methods and/or Results sections (including creating a PRISMA flow diagram) of the manuscript.

(Image from https://rpfind.me/groups/269)

Librarians can also provide group training on systematic review-related topics including performing comprehensive literature searches and using tools for study screening. Contact the Shiffman Medical Library (askmed@wayne.edu or 313-577-1094) to request group training.