Key Databases
- PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window"Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis database is an online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
Finding full text articles
When the full text of the article is not available in the database, use the "Link to Full Text" button 
.
The system will search for full text and return the options in a separate window.
Click on theArticle link that appears in the new window. You may have to click through 2-3 pages until you reach the PDF link for the article.
If you receive a message that the article is not available, use the "Request digital delivery" link and follow the instructions to order the article. Digital delivery (ILLIad) sends a PDF version of the article to you. You will receive notice via email, usually within 1-2 business days.
If you continue to have difficulty retrieving an article, contact askmed@wayne.edu by email, call the Reference Desk at 313-577-1094, or visit us on the first floor of the Mazurek Medical Education Commons .
Other Databases
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowA repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowAccessPHARMACY: Users can search over 20 core curriculum textbooks, identify a core topic, or browse site by organ system. Case studies, care plans, self-assessments and NAPLEX review help students develop and track key skills providing critical feedback for students and teachers. Other features include information on clinical relevance and lab tests, comprehensive drug database, news & updates from Pharmacotherapy News Network (PNN) and Goodman & Gilmans Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowFull text access to select health science textbooks, journals, procedural videos, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials with particular emphasis on medicine and surgery.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowConsists chiefly of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE) Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) Cochrane database of methodology reviews Cochrane methodology register Health technology assessment database (HTA) and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).