HE6420 - HE6420 - Introduction to Health Education Program Design - Research Guides at Wayne State University

Government Sources for Demographic and Health Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's QuckFacts feature provides quick, basic demographic data at the state, county, and city/town (pop. 5000+) levels.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Serves as a portal to many CDC data sources, including most of those listed below.
CDC Wonder
CDC WONDER provides a wide range of statistics related to health and disease at the regional and state levels.
Behavioral Risk Factors Surveillance System (BRFSS)
The BRFSS's Prevalence & Trends Data and Chronic Disease Indicators tools provide statistics in various health-related categories related to subject behavior. Statistics are provided at the national and state levels, and, in some categories, it is possible to view trendlines and break down statistics by gender, income, and other factors.
Division of Adolecent and School Health (DASH)
Includes links to the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) and to other health and health behavior data sources for middle/high school-aged children. Data is available for states and large cities.
Morbidity Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
The MMWR consists of provisional statistical reports from state health agencies to the CDC, and provide very current information the health profile of the nation.

Michigan-Specific Sources

Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG)
Allows you to investigate demographic data at the county and city/town levels, and allows you to select individual cities/towns in order to generate custom reports.
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS)
Formerly the Michigan Department of Community Health. By clicking on Inside MDHHS and then Health Statistics and Reports, you can access reports and statistics related to health issues and number of enrollees in health-related state programs.
MiTracking Data Portal
An online repository of Michigan-specific environmental and health data and provided in a single location.

Other Government Sources

Handouts

Data Sources handout
Links to some of the most useful data and statistics resources covered in this guide.
Literature Searching handout
In addition to providing links to "best bets" for literature searches, this handout also has links for citation tools and annotated bibliographies.

Literature Searching tools

PICO Method worksheet
Helps keep track of search terms using the PICO (Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcomes) method; fields can be filled out and saved for later (but you have to download it first!).
Power Searching & Database Tools
Some useful ways you can improve your search results, along with common tools found in databases.

Health Statistics from Nongovernmental Agencies and Organizations

County Health Rankings
Compares counties within a chosen state with regards to health-related statistics.
Self-Sufficiency Standard for Michigan
This resource, from the Food Bank Council of Michigan and the University of Washington, estimates the livable wage for families in various Michigan counties.
Impact of COVID on Food Insecurity
A visualization of how food insecurity and very low food security may have increased in 2020 and may increase in 2021 due to COVID-19.
Hunger & Poverty in the US (pre-COVID)
This map, provided by Feeding America, provides statistics on levels of hunger and poverty across the United States.
American Cancer Society
American Heart Association
Food Bank Council of Michigan
State Health Facts - Kaiser Family Foundation

Other Useful Sources

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This resource is made possible through the partnership of the Center for Urban Studies and the University Library System. Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.
Gale Business DemographicsNow: Business & People This link opens in a new window
A business database that provides some consumer-related health and demographic statistics. The CEX - Health Care Detail Summary and the Simmons Health and Beauty Summary may be of particular interest.

Kids Count Data Center
From the Annie E. Casey Foundation, this resource provides varied statistics on children, teens, and young adults.
MDHHS Ambulatory Care Sensitive Hospitalizations
This report from the MDHHS provides trend data that can be broken down by age and gender.
MDHHS Health Disparities Reduction and Minority Health

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

HE6420 - Introduction to Health Education Program Design

Government Sources for Demographic and Health Statistics

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Michigan-Specific Sources

Other Government Sources

Handouts

Literature Searching tools

Health Statistics from Nongovernmental Agencies and Organizations

Other Useful Sources

Parks and Recreation Sites

Resources

Services

Information

Help

Community

Community

Sign In

HE6420 - Introduction to Health Education Program Design

Government Sources for Demographic and Health Statistics

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Michigan-Specific Sources

Other Government Sources

Handouts

Literature Searching tools

Health Statistics from Nongovernmental Agencies and Organizations

Other Useful Sources

Parks and Recreation Sites

Community

Sign In