Subject Specialist Librarian
FEDERAL Problem Overviews
Library databases such as CQ Researcher, Opposing Viewpoints, and the Encyclopedia of Urban Studies can provide summary articles on social problems. Government agencies, research centers, and organizations are good sources of information about social problems and issues. Many of their web sites will feature reports, news items, research studies that provide a glimpse of the problem at the national level. The National Poverty Center (listed below) is one example of this type of resource. See other examples below.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- National Poverty CenterThe National Poverty Center at the University of Michigan is one example of a national level research center that issues reports on the status of poverty in the US.
- U. S. Department of EducationTake a look at the "Research" tab on the Department of Education website to see reports on education throughout the nation.
- HHS - HomelessnessCheck our this government agency for information in the "Research & Publications" and "Resources" sections.
FEDERAL Policies & Proposals
- Gov TrackFor bills being proposed
Searching Tips
- Use your main topic (homelessness, poverty, blight) as a keyword and add one other term like problem, analysis, or overview to help narrow your search. EXAMPLE: Homelessness and problem
- Remember to use alternate terms for your main topic. For example, instead of "blight" you might try "abandoned land" or "vacant land."
- If searching the Internet, look for .gov sites in your search results to find government agencies that will have reports, white papers, data, and other helpful resources.
- Remember that .org sites will most likely have a viewpoint or agenda. Be sure you understand the goal of the organization and judge its trustworthiness before you trust its information.
- Use library databases when searching for scholarly articles that analyze the problem and propose solutions. Suggested databases are listed on this page.
Recommended Databases for Scholarly Articles
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
- Urban studies abstracts This link opens in a new windowUrban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Social work abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts database contains more than 26,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowFormerly PAIS International, this database provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window(Previously LexisNexis Congressional Universe)
U.S. legislative information including hearings, reports, prints and documents and the CIS Legislative Histories from Congressional Information Service. Provides the option to limit searches to the Congressional Record or the U.S. Serial Set.
Think Tanks, Policy Organizations, and Advocacy Groups
BROWSE by TOPIC
- Advocacy GroupsA directory of advocacy groups, organized by topic.
- Political Advocacy GroupsEdited by a group of political science librarians, this directory profiles groups that lobby Congress on issues. Organized by topic.
BROWSE List of Organizations
- Public Policy Think Tanks (U.S. & Global)From the University of Pennsylvania, this listing of policy think tanks is grouped by topic of research.
- Michigan Think TanksFrom MSU, this research guide listing provides an extensive array of organizations that deal with policies on all types of issues.
SEARCH
- findpolicy.orgA search engine to help locate policy documents from "leading policy research organizations." Search by categories and for worldwide results.
Evaluating the Sponsor
The "about us" link on most organizational pages is the place to investigate who is responsible for the group and what potential interests, perspectives or conflicts of interest the group may have on the topic. While the .com domain generally signals a profit motive, the .org runs the gamut of self interest to public good. Be sure to examine the goals and viewpoints expressed in these sections of the website in order to determine how objective the information may be.
- Calculating the Ideologies of Powerful Think TanksBlog posting that provides a listing of 20 think tanks (referenced by Congress), ranked from liberal to conservative. Source article:
OTHER JUDGMENTS
The following listings categorize think tanks by ideology but their rankings are more tenuous and less transparent. Compare two or more sources to determine whether or not the categorization seems sound.
http://www.citizensource.com/Opinion&Policy/ThinkTanks.htm
http://fair.org/extra/fair%E2%80%88study-think-tank-spectrum-2012/
STATE Overviews
Search for state agencies and organizations that deal with the problem or issue. Look for "Resources" or "News" sections, which may feature reports profiling the problem. See examples that follow.
- Michigan Coalition Against HomelessnessLook for the "Resources" or "News" section, which may feature reports profiling the problem.
- Income & Poverty Data (State of Michigan)Census data on the poverty level in Michigan is included in this statistical profile of the state of Michigan
- Food Bank Council of MichiganBe sure to look at the "Hunger Resources" section to find reports on hunger in Michigan.
- Michigan Department of EducationThe "Michigan Annual Education Report" and the "Michigan School Report Card" located on this site are places to look for overviews of the state situation.
- Michigan Department of Environmental QualityThe site offers information on a range of issues from air and water quality to waste management.
STATE Policies & Proposals
- DEQ Policy & ProceduresEnvironmental laws, rules and pending rules.
- Michigan Legislative SearchSearch for laws and proposed bills on this legislative website
- CRC (Citizens Research Council of Michigan)According to the website, provides "unbiased independent information on significant issues concerning state and local government organization and finance."
LOCAL Overviews
Local newspaper coverage is one source for defining the problem at the local level. City agencies or organizations are another. See two examples that follow.
- Detroit Free Press (1999-Present) This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Detroit Free Press.
- HAND (Homeless Action Network of Detroit)A local organization devoted to dealing with the problem of homelessness in Detroit. The "Resources" section contains action plans.
LOCAL Policies & Proposals
Other suggested strategies:
- Use the Detroit Free Press to search for policy proposals
- Find an example from another city
- Detroit Free Press (1999-Present) This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Detroit Free Press.
- Detroit Future City Strategic Framework PlanPlan for projects and initiatives to revitalize Detroit.