Subject of the Month

A monthly display featuring resources on specific thematic subjects.

Royalty free image from Pixabay

All the Subject of the Month Guides from 2021.

Why Have a Subject of the Month Guide?

For years, the display in the Purdy/Kresge Library highlighted books from the print collections on a unique topic every month.  However, the WSU Library System has a rich collection of eBooks, Online Journals, and Databases, too.  In addition, there is an electronic universe of high-quality, freely available online resources that includes websites, videos, and blogs.  This Research Guide for the Subject of the Month was developed in an effort to gather these resources together and make them available to a wider audience -- reaching students, faculty, and the online community at large.

Royalty free image from Pixabay

Interested in other Subject of the Month Guides throughout the years?


Check them out!

2012                                               2018

2013                                               2019

2014                                               2020

2015                                                      2021

2016                                                       2022

2017                                                                

 

January-June

Selector: Maria Nuccilli

"Disco is one of the most maligned and misunderstood of musical genres, thought to be musically vapid, hedonistic and frivolous. Far from it. Disco was utopian and subversive, and political to its core. Born in New York's deepest underground, it brought together strands of gay liberation and post Civil-Rights racial integration. Disco put into practice what the Sixties preached."
– [From BBC Radio] Martha Reeve's Presents "The Politics of Dancing: How Disco Changed the World"

Check it out here!

Black History Month poster image

February is the month dedicated annually to Black History. This February, the University Libraries have partnered with the WSU Office of Multicultural Student Engagement (OMSE) to develop this virtual Subject of the Month display spotlighting people and events of historical influence in the African American community in Detroit. We hope you will enjoy exploring and learning about black history in our great city.

Check it out here!

broken glass with title for display

Selector: Gabby Bray & Rachael Clark

"Women are leaders everywhere you go, from the CEO who runs a Fortune 500 company to the housewife who raises her children and heads her household. Our country was built by strong women, and we will continue to breakdown walls and defy stereotypes."  —Nancy Pelosi

Check it out here!

Selector: Sarah Sorensen

Statement: April is National Poetry Month! During the 2021 Presidential Inauguration, first National Youth Poet Laureate,  Amanda Gorman delivered her inspiring poem, "The Hill We Climb." Since then, Gorman has performed at the Super Bowl and been featured in numerous interviews and articles. Gorman, and many other poets throughout history, have used poetry to stimulate conversions around critical issues regarding politics, identity, and the human experience. Poetry gives a voice to vulnerable populations and offers a way to connect to our struggles and triumphs through language. Poetry is an act of empowerment. 

Check it out here!

Header image titled "Newspapers in Detroit," featuring a woman reading a newspaper above the Detroit skyline.

Selector: Gabby Bray

A look back on 190 years of print media in Detroit

Detroit has a reputation as a "two-newspaper town," with the Detroit Free Press and The Detroit News having long loomed over its media landscape, innovating and changing the face not only of journalism in Michigan but the national press as well. However, the actual story of Detroit's newspapers is far richer, with student papers, the independent Black press, and alternative publications all playing important roles. It is an often turbulent story intertwined with the city's complicated history of labor struggle and racial tension. It is also an ongoing story with an uncertain future as the way we consume news continues to evolve and long-established institutions seek new ways to adapt and remain relevant. Ultimately, it is quintessentially a Detroit story: by, of, and about the people who have made it their home.

Check it out here!

Sample text analytics visualization

Selector: Alexandra Sarkozy, Digital Scholarship Librarian

Text and data mining research methods have become a popular way to analyze large quantities of data in the humanities, social sciences, and science. This guide provides an overview of some popular off-the-shelf tools, tutorials to guide self-learning, resources from the library's collections, and upcoming online trainings available to the WSU community.

Check it out here!

July-December

"The critical race theory (CRT) movement is a collection of activists and scholars engaged in studying and transforming the relationship among race, racism, and power. The movement considers many of the same issues that conventional civil rights and ethnic studies discourses take up but places them in a broader perspective that includes economics, history, setting, group and self-interest, and emotions and the unconscious."

- Richard Delgado and Jean Stefanic (Critical Race Theory: An Introduction)

Check it out here!

Dean George (left), president of the North American Indian Association of Detroit, and an NAIA Detroit member (right) display two bumper stickers which read "CUSTER DIED FOR YOUR SINS" and "CUSTER HAD IT COMING;" original taken in 1971 and available via the Virtual Motor City collection.

Selector: Clayton Hayes

Check it out here!

Jars of money labeled for tuition, books, food, transportation.

Selectors:

Rhonda McGinnis & Rachael Clark, WSU Libraries

Christine Powell & Ryan Thomas, WSU Financial Aid

  • Live on Campus? Share an apartment? Live at home?
  • Student Loan or part-time job?
  • Buy or rent new textbooks?  Buy used ones?
  • Meal Plan, cook for yourself, eat out?

College involves so many money-related questions?  Answering them correctly can set you on the path to financial freedom.  Answer them wrong and you can face financial hardships for years after graduation.  The resources provided on this page can help you understand the financial challenges you face and provide suggestions and tools to help you Start Money Smart!

Check it out here!

Selectors: Shannon McDermitt and Maria Nuccilli

“Ghosts, by their very ephemeral nature, cross boundaries and confound attempts at definition.”

p. 81, Paranormal America

Check it out here! 

Studio Glass:  The Art of Fire

Selector: Rhonda McGinnis

Studio Glass, works of art made by glassblowers in their own studios, had its humble beginnings in 1962 in a shed behind the Toledo Museum of Art. Over the past 60 years the art form has grown and developed until it can truly stand evenly with painting or sculpture as a means of artistic expression.

Check it out here!

image from the University of Minnesota AIDS Poster Collection

Selector: Alexandra Sarkozy

Check it out here!