Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

BBE5000

Liaison Librarian

Karen Liston's picture
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596

134 Purdy/Kresge Library
5265 Cass Ave
Detroit, MI 48202

OPEN DROP-IN HOURS:

EDUCATION BLDG Room 116 (Suite 3)
Mondays 3 - 5 pm

MANOOGIAN HALL Room 308 (FLTC)
Thursdays 12 - 2:30 pm

PURDY-KRESGE LIBRARY REFERENCE DESK
Mondays 5 - 9 (starting 10/16/17) pm & Tuesdays 3 - 5 pm

Resource Unit and Lesson Plan

This library guide will support your search for information, resources and classroom activities to support the development of your Resource Unit and Lesson Plan.

Before you begin your library research, create your Interlibrary Loan account. This will allow you to request articles we do not have available online for delivery to your email. This service is free and takes 1-2 business days.

Click here to link to Interlibrary Loan Need help? Watch this Video: Create your Interlibrary Loan account

Take a Look at the following articles. These might help you identify the learning styles of your ethnic group.

Is There a Difference in Learning Style Among Cultures?

The Culture/Learning Style Connection

Searching for Ethnic Groups, Learning Styles and Teaching Strategies

Using appropriate and recognized search terms can help you locate articles related to the learning styles and preferences of your ethnic groups. Following are suggestions, based on the ERIC (Education Resources Information Sources) thesaurus, a list of recognized search terminology. Using quotes as indicated will keep your search terms together as a phrase when you search.

"alaska natives" cubans jews
"american indians" "filipino americans" "korean americans"
"african americans" haitians mexicans
"anglo americans" hawaiians muslims
arabs "hispanic americans" "pacific americans"
"asian americans" indochinese "pacific islanders"
"chinese americans" "italian americans" "puerto ricans"
  "japanese americans" "samoan americans"

You may also find you need to search other terms, such as: blacks, latinos, latinas, or rural, or create your own construction, such as "cuban americans"

You can also try some broader terms, to find articles that perhaps discuss multiple ethnic groups, such as ethnicity or minority groups.

Pair your ethnic group search term with one of the following terms, which are concepts related to learning preferences.

"learning styles" "cognitive development" "educational philosophy"
"learning modalities" "learning processes" "cultural influence"
"learning strategies" "culturally relevant education'  

Or, you can pair your ethnic group search term with one of the following terms that relates to a teaching strategy

"cultural competence" "culturally responsive" "cross-cultural teaching"
"authentic materials" "authentic texts"  

 

SEARCHING THE ERIC DATABASE

Select the ERIC (ProQuest) link below to search the ERIC database. You can also access the ERIC (ProQuest) database, and other databases, by going to the library homepage and selecting the Article Databases link on the left under Quicklinks.

You can also search ERIC for teaching and learning activities. Use a term that describe a particular learning style or activity that you have found as a preference for your ethnic group, such as:

"cooperative learning" "discovery learning" "experiential learning"
"active learning" "problem based learning" "observational learning"

Or search your ethnic group paired with one of the following search terms:

"resource units" "activity units" "learning modules"
"units of study" "learning activities"  

 

Help with Finding and Requesting Full Text

Finding Quality Lesson Plans and Classroom Activities on the Internet

Search for lesson plans by grade level and curriculum area. Many of these resources show alignment with standards or common core.

Course Texts