Databases
- ATLA databaseDatabase containing theological literature. Full-text version will be available September 1, 2017.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central brings together many of our most used databases to create the most comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database available. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Closed Collection - full text This link opens in a new windowPQDT offers access to 3 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 80,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
Other Helpful Guides
- Ebooks at Wayne State UniversityInformation on ebooks: how to find, use, and download them from our collections.
- How to use EndNoteEndNote software organizes your references, and formats them in Microsoft Word manuscripts.
- Reference ToolsOnline ready reference e-resources.
Books in the Collection
The books from the former ETS Library are currently being added to the WSU collection. As of August 2107, approximately 25% of the books have been catalogued and shelved. Books on theological topics are available on the fourth floor of the Purdy Library.
To find books on theological topics in the library, I recommend browsing LC Subject Headings on Theology in the library catalog. Wayne State Library has entries in 562 subject headings related to Theology, and there are many other topics not under the Theology headings that are of interest to theology students (archaeology, literature, classics, etc.)
Related LC Subject Headings:
Reference Books
Reference books are located on the left side of the lobby of the Undergraduate Library.
Black Theology by Call Number: Z 7774 .E9 1987ISBN: 0313248222Publication Date: 1987-04-21“A valuable summary of the development and status of black theology, this bibliography will be useful primarily in academic settings where this topic is studied.”– Reference Books Bulletin
American Religion and Philosophy by Call Number: Z 7774 .E9 1987ISBN: 081031262XPublication Date: 1978-11-01
Freethought in the United States by Call Number: Z7765 .B67ISBN: 031320036XPublication Date: 1978-07-20"This typography book is somewhere between a quick reference guide and an in-depth analysis. Limited to Latin-based writing systems with an emphasis on form and practical application it includes four primary sections: Terms, Glyphs, Anatomy & Form, and Classification & Specimens. Foreword by Ellen Lupton"--Provided by publisher.
Women and Religion: a bibliographic guide to Christian feminist liberation theology by Call Number: Z 7963 .R45 F56 1991ISBN: 0802058817Publication Date: 1991-01-01
The Blackwell Companion to Modern Theology by Call Number: BT 75.3 .B58 2007ISBN: 1405159758Publication Date: 2007-04-23In this major reference work, a team of the world′s leading theologians provides a powerful overview of modern theology Covers theology′s relation to other disciplines, the history of theology, major themes, key figures and contemporary issues Can be used as the basis for an introductory course or as an essential reference source
Reference Works for Theological Research by Call Number: Z 7751 .K46 1992ISBN: 0819185655Publication Date: 1992-01-27A classified annotated bibliographical guide to over 700 works useful for theological research. Designed to serve both as a textbook for the study of such tools and as a tool for the rapid location of appropriate reference works when doing theological research.
Religion and American Life by Call Number: Z 7757 .U5 R45 1989ISBN: 0252015886Publication Date: 1989-05-01
Subject Guide
Theology Periodicals
- Browzine Religion BookshelfBrowzine allows you to read and download issues of journals in our subscriptions to desktop and mobile devices.
- Browzine Theology BookshelfTheology journals in Browzine
Web Resources
- Religion OnlineBooks and articles on religious topics.
- Theology on the WebDigitized books, articles, and bibliographies made available for theological study.