Getting to the article's full-text
When the full text of the article is not available in the database, use the "Search for Article" (ArticleLinker) button 
.
The system will search for full text and return the options in a separate window.
Click on the Article link that appears in the new window. You may have to click through 2-3 pages until you reach the PDF link for the article.
If you receive a red message that the article is not available electronically, use the "Request digital delivery" link below the message and follow the instructions to order the article. You will receive a PDF version of the article by email, usually within 48 hours.
If you need assistance, please contact Ask-a-Librarian or a reference desk at one of the libraries.
Databases
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new windowAbstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview.; NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases. This database contains some full-text articles. For other citations use the Article Linker button to link to any articles owned by WSU in full-text.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
- Social work abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts database contains more than 26,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1980-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
Useful for citation reports and journal impact factors. - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowConsists chiefly of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).
Contains full-text reviews, useful for research in evidence-based practice. - Campbell Collaboration This link opens in a new windowThe Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. The Campbell Library of Systematic Reviews provides free online access to systematic reviews in the areas of education, criminal justice and social welfare.
This is a free resource containing a limited amount of full-text systematic reviews. - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Closed Collection - full text This link opens in a new windowPQDT offers access to 3 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 80,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
Journals and Impact Factors
Contains information on currently published as well as discontinued periodicals. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications. Gives information whether a periodical is peer-reviewed.
An essential, comprehensive, and unique resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Provides journal impact factor.
To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, "Select a Database" tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports.
To access Journal Citation Reports: from main Search Page, "Select a Database" tab then click on the Journal Citation Reports.
Subject Guide
Monique Oldfield
Contact:
Research consultation available by appointment.
134 Purdy/Kresge Library
313-577-5037 (phone)
313-577-3436 (FAX)
134 Purdy/Kresge Library
313-577-5037 (phone)
313-577-3436 (FAX)