Welcome!
Welcome to the Guide for Linguistics!
I hope that you will find this guide a useful starting place for your research in Linguistics. I have assembled a core collection of resources available through the Wayne State University Library System, as well as high quality, freely available web resources. This guide is a collaborative work-in-progress, developed with the suggestions and feedback from students and faculty in Linguistics.
I am available by appointment to assist students and faculty with research related to Linguistics. You may also contact me to schedule research workshops for classes or to suggest items for purchase.
Judith Arnold
Liaison Librarian for Linguistics
New E-books
Related Databases
- Web of Science An international, multidisciplinary database that contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, as well as Social Science and Science Citation Indexes.
Coverage: Arts and Humanities Search (1980 - ) - PsycINFO Provides extensive coverage of scholarly linguistics articles and some books in the field of psychology. Inculdes citations and brief abstracts.
(1887 - present) - Sociological Abstracts Includes some scholarly articles and books on lingusitics in the area of sociology.
(1963 - present) - ERIC - ProQuest Includes some linguistics information as it pertains to education. Provides citations and abstracts for journals and Eric documents.
(1966-present)
Web Resources
- Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL) ResourcesA set of free online resources, including reports, on linguistics and language topics. Some fee-based services here.
- Lexicool.comComprehensive directory of bilingual and multilingual dictionaries on the Internet
- Linguistics Resources on the InternetProvides information on the programs of the Summer Institute for Linguistics, many of the Institute's on-line publications including Ethnologue: languages of the world, Languages of the Americas, SIL Bibliography and SIL electronic Working Papers and Links computer and electronic support systems and other linguistic resources.
- The Rosetta ProjectThe Rosetta Project is a global collaboration of language specialists and native speakers working to build a publicly accessible digital library of human languages.
- iLoveLanguagesBrings together information about the languages of the world from dictionaries to language tutorials to spoken samples of languages. One of the best sources on individual languages. Coverage of linguistics is less complete.
- Linguistics, Natural Language, and Computational Linguistics Meta-IndexThis site provides an extensive list of links to linguistics sites. The brief evaluative comments for each site are valuable.
- The Modern Language Association Language MapThe MLA Language Map is intended for use by students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States.
Recommended Databases
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Provides selective access to the world's literature on language and language behavior. Corresponds to the printed index of the same name.Coverage: 1973-present
- MLA bibliography This electronic version of the MLA International Index is a comprehensive international index covering modern languages and literature. Linguistics coverage includes modern, ancient and extinct languages.
(1963 - ) - Communication and Mass Media Complete Communication and Mass Media Complete covers communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline
Online Journals
- Brain and Language1993-present
- Cognitive Science1996-present
- Computer Speech and Language1993-present
- English for Specific Purposes1995-present
- English Journal1988 to present in ProQuest Research Library
01/01/1912 to 11/30/2008 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV Archive Collection - JEGP: Journal of English and Germanic Philology2009 to present in Project Muse
07/01/1997 to 01/31/2002 in ProQuest Research Library
1993 to 04/30/2000 in Academic OneFile - Journal of Communication Disorders1995-present
- Journal of Fluency Disorders1995-present
- Journal of Language & Social PsychologyFrom 03/01/1999 to present
From 01/01/1982 to 12/31/1998 in SAGE Deep Backfile Package 2010 - Journal of Memory and Language1993-present
- Journal of Neurolinguistics1995-present
- Journal of Phonetics1995-present
- Journal of Pragmatics1995-present
- Journal of Second Language Writing1995-present
- Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research1997-present
- Language03/01/2001 to present
03/01/1925 to 12/31/2006 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences III Archive Collection - Language & Communication1995-present
- Language Learning1997-present
- Language Sciences1995-present
- Lingua1995-present
- Linguistic InquiryFall 2000-present
1970 to 10/31/2006 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII Archive Collection - Linguistics and Education1995-present
- Philological Quarterly1993-present
- Psychological Science1990-present
- Studia Linguistica1997-present
- System1995-present
- Transactions of the Philological Society1997-present
- Trends in Cognitive Science1997-present
- World Englishes1997-present
Specialized Internet Resources
- EthnologueUse this online reference work to find information about the world's languages.
- The LinguistlistFrom their website: "The LINGUIST List is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world. LINGUIST is a free resource, run by linguistics professors and graduate students, and supported primarily by your donations." Currently maintained by Eastern Michigan University and Wayne State University.
- Linguistic Society of AmericaAside from information on the main professional linguistics organization in the U.S., this site provides general information on the profession of linguistics, information on academic linguistics programs, job openings, available grants, and publications/resources with which the society is involved.
- Glossary of Linguistics TermsThis is a glossary of terms used in the morphological, syntactic, and pragmatic analysis of text. It does not necessarily include terms specific to particular theoretical models (e.g. tagmeme).
- Virtual Linguistics Campus (VLC)Linguistics Online is your virtual linguistics campus. (Includes fee based services)
- Links & Papers on PragmaticsProvides a list of places on the web to visit for information about pragmatics.
- Finding Software on ScriptSourceThe SIL IPA Fonts are scalable outline fonts for both Macintosh and Windows systems. They contain every base character, diacritic, and suprasegmental mark currently prescribed by the International Phonetic Association.
- SociolinguisticsFrom the "Explore Lingusitics" site at the University of Oregon, "this site is an introduction to some exciting aspects in the field of social linguistics is designed to encourage you to read further. There are many fascinating and odd phenomena that occur in the social aspects of language."
- Web of Morphology"This page contains links with works on the morphology of various languages around the globe. The links are selected both for their theoretical significance and the empirical data that they contain. However, most are very useful tools for language-learning. "
Liaison Librarian |
![]() Contact Info 134 Purdy-Kresge Library Wayne State University Libraries (http://www.lib.wayne.edu/index.php) Detroit, MI 48202 Phone: 313.577.8368 FAX: 313.577.3436 judith.arnold@wayne.edu OFFICE HOURS I am on campus 9- Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Departmental Information
Departmental Homepage
http://www.clas.wayne.edu/linguistics/
Contact Information
Linguistics Program
5057 Woodward Suite 10303.1
Detroit, MI 48202
ph: (313) 577-8642
fax: (313) 577-0404
contact: Brendon Zatirka, Assistant to the Director
linguistics@wayne.edu
About the Department
Linguistics is devoted to the scientific study of language structure and use. The Linguistics Program at Wayne State offers an interdisciplinary approach to this field, permitting students to explore a wide range of topics and issues in language research.
Finding Full Text
When the full text of the article is not available in the database, use the "360 Link to Full Text" button
.
The system will search for full text and return the options in a separate window.
Click on the Article link that appears in the new window. You may have to click through 2-3 pages until you reach the PDF link for the article.
If you receive a message that the article is not available online, use the "Request digital delivery" link below the message and follow the instructions to order the article. Digital delivery sends a PDF version of the article to you. You will receive notice via email, usually within 48 hours.
If you continue to have difficulty retrieving the article, contact Ask-a-Librarian or a reference desk at one of the libraries.
Specialized Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Bilingual EducationProvides information on bilingual education and related topics. Discusses how this topic affects schools, research centers, legislative bodies, advocacy organizations, and families. Explores the subject from multiple perspectives: its history, policy, classroom practice, instructional design, and research bases.
- Encyclopedia of Language & EducationCovers numerous subjects in the field of language and education. Each volume deals with a single substantial subject and includes topical reviews, written by one or more experts in the topic.
From the latest issue of Language
Loading...



Loading...
