Librarian Liaison
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Recommended Databases
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides selective access to the world's literature on language and language behavior. Corresponds to the printed index of the same name.Coverage: 1973-present
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThis electronic version of the MLA International Index is a comprehensive international index covering modern languages and literature. Linguistics coverage includes modern, ancient and extinct languages.
(1963 - ) -
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication and Mass Media Complete covers communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline
-
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) contains American regional vocabulary from throughout the United States including the earliest known usage of each word, a sampling of other examples of use over time, and a contemporary example.
Related Databases
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowAn international, multidisciplinary database that contains the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, as well as Social Science and Science Citation Indexes.
Coverage: Arts and Humanities Search (1980 - ) -
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProvides extensive coverage of scholarly linguistics articles and some books in the field of psychology. Inculdes citations and brief abstracts.
(1887 - present)
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes some scholarly articles and books on lingusitics in the area of sociology.
(1963 - present) -
ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowIncludes some linguistics information as it pertains to education. Provides citations and abstracts for journals and Eric documents.
(1966-present)
Online Journals
-
Brain and Language1993-present
-
Cognitive Science1996-present
-
Computer Speech and Language1993-present
-
English for Specific Purposes1995-present
-
English Journal1988 to present in ProQuest Research Library
01/01/1912 to 11/30/2008 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences IV Archive Collection
-
JEGP: Journal of English and Germanic Philology2009 to present in Project Muse
07/01/1997 to 01/31/2002 in ProQuest Research Library
1993 to 04/30/2000 in Academic OneFile -
Journal of Communication Disorders1995-present
-
Journal of Fluency Disorders1995-present
-
Journal of Language & Social PsychologyFrom 03/01/1999 to present
From 01/01/1982 to 12/31/1998 in SAGE Deep Backfile Package 2010 -
Journal of Memory and Language1993-present
-
Journal of Neurolinguistics1995-present
-
Journal of Phonetics1995-present
-
Journal of Pragmatics1995-present
-
Journal of Second Language Writing1995-present
-
Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research1997-present
-
Language03/01/2001 to present
03/01/1925 to 12/31/2006 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences III Archive Collection
-
Language & Communication1995-present
-
Language Learning1997-present
-
Language Sciences1995-present
-
Lingua1995-present
-
Linguistic InquiryFall 2000-present
1970 to 10/31/2006 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences VII Archive Collection -
Linguistics and Education1995-present
-
Philological Quarterly1993-present
-
Psychological Science1990-present
-
Studia Linguistica1997-present
-
System1995-present
-
Transactions of the Philological Society1997-present
-
Trends in Cognitive Science1997-present
-
World Englishes1997-present
Web Resources
-
Fieldwork Recordings from DAREFrom the University of Wisconsin digital collections, "the recordings contain American regional speech samples from all fifty states," used in compiling DARE.
-
Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL) ResourcesA set of free online resources, including reports, on linguistics and language topics. Some fee-based services here.
-
Lexicool.comComprehensive directory of bilingual and multilingual dictionaries on the Internet
-
Linguistics Resources on the InternetProvides information on the programs of the Summer Institute for Linguistics, many of the Institute's on-line publications including Ethnologue: languages of the world, Languages of the Americas, SIL Bibliography and SIL electronic Working Papers and Links computer and electronic support systems and other linguistic resources.
-
The Rosetta ProjectThe Rosetta Project is a global collaboration of language specialists and native speakers working to build a publicly accessible digital library of human languages.
-
iLoveLanguagesBrings together information about the languages of the world from dictionaries to language tutorials to spoken samples of languages. One of the best sources on individual languages. Coverage of linguistics is less complete.
-
Linguistics, Natural Language, and Computational Linguistics Meta-IndexThis site provides an extensive list of links to linguistics sites. The brief evaluative comments for each site are valuable.
-
The Modern Language Association Language MapThe MLA Language Map is intended for use by students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States.
-
California Language ArchiveHoused at UC-Berkeley, this site is "a catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas."
Finding Full Text
When the full text of the article is not available in the database, use the "360 Link to Full Text" button 
.
The system will search for full text and return the options in a separate window.
Click on the Article link that appears in the new window. You may have to click through 2-3 pages until you reach the PDF link for the article.
If you receive a message that the article is not available online, use the "Request digital delivery" link below the message and follow the instructions to order the article. Digital delivery sends a PDF version of the article to you. You will receive notice via email, usually within 48 hours.
If you continue to have difficulty retrieving the article, contact Ask-a-Librarian or a reference desk at one of the libraries.