Help us improve this site.
Please Give Feedback
Text a librarian anytime, anywhere! 313-228-3WSU
We now have a 24/7 chat service to answer your questions about library services and resources as well as help you with your research questions, projects and assignments anytime that you need it, day or night.
Read More
Explore Special Collections
The Libraries have many rare and unique materials for you to use in your research.
Read More
PREV
NEXT
Best Bet
Articles
Databases
Digital Commons @ Wayne State
Books and Media
Journals
Digital Collections
Wayne.edu Search
Research Guides
Can't find what you're looking for?
We can help you find it.
Access resources at other university libraries.
Browse subject and course guides compiled by librarians.

Norup International School

This site has been created to support the Norup International School Middle Years Programme Year 3 Community Project

Need Help? (make sure you tell us you are a Norup student)

Chat or Email

Ask A Librarian Logo

Reference Desks

Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094

Welcome Norup International School!

TED Talk: Filter Bubbles

Eli Pariser is the author of The Filter Bubble: What the Internet is Hiding from You (2011).

What is your filter bubble?

What do you think? (Website Evaluation)

Key Concepts (Keywords) for Searching

Connectors (Boolean Operators )

Connectors (or Boolean Operators) can help you get better search results in a database.

What is the Deep Web?

Not everything is available on the internet for free. Find out what information is buried beneath the surface, and how to access it for free.

Find out more using MeL Databases...

A library database is a special collection of information sources. They may or may not be available individually on the internet. What is nice about using a database is that it brings quality information from both free and "not free" resources and makes them available to you in one place. Database access from the Michigan Electronic Library (MeL) is free to you because you are a resident of the state of Michigan.

You need to use keywords and connectors (boolean operators) to search a database. Searches will not work very well if you type in sentences or questions.

You can use the databases to look for articles about how others have addressed the problem you have identified, or to find some general statistics or information about your problem.

mel 

Find more with MEL.

Click the Mel button to get to more databases and other resources to help you find information for your project, and other homework assignments you may have.