Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Specialist Librarian
Classic Catalog Search
Search here for books, media, and the titles of journals we own.
Book Not @ Wayne?
Get books not at WSU through this statewide network of libraries.
Search for an item in libraries near you.
Book review index
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
E-Book for Fashion Research
Doing Research in Fashion and Dress: An Introduction to Qualitative Methods by
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
This book is specifically devoted to qualitative research methods in fashion studies. It gives an overview of the key methodological approaches such as ethnography, semiology, and object-based research, and shows the student reader how "to do" research by combining theoretical and practical perspectives.
Summon Search: for Articles, Books and more
Search here for articles, books, and more.
Featured Article Databases
American periodicals series online, 1740-1900
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III. When completed in 2003, this database will have more than 7,000,000 pages of full text periodicals.
Covers more than 250 key international, English-language arts publications, includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and so forth.
Art bibliographies modern
Modern and contemporary art, photography and design
Featured Business and Communication Databases
Business Source Complete
With more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
To see the complete list of newspapers, change the display box from "Best Bets" to "All"
Biography in Context
Biography in Context delivers research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. A resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily. In it you'll find: 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals.
Clothing and Textiles Research Journal (CTRJ)
CTRJ is peer-reviewed and published quarterly, and strives to strengthen the research base in clothing and textiles, facilitate scholarly interchange, demonstrate the interdisciplinary nature of the field, and inspire further research.
WWD: Women's Wear Daily
From Conde Nast, this important trade publication covers the fashion design and manufacturing industries.
History of Costume Digital Collections
History of Costume Images in the Visual Resources Collection at WSU
0ver 1,200 digital images are included in this collection, originally created as slides, from Slides Presentations Publishers.
Digital Dress: 200 Years of Urban Style
The collections include images from the following Detroit area historical agencies:
--Detroit Historical Museum Historic Costume Collection
--Meadow Brook Hall Historic Costume Collection
--The Henry Ford Historic Costume Collection
PLEASE NOTE: Digital Dress collections are visible only via FIREFOX, or CHROME browsers, or earlier versions of INTERNET EXPLORER (release 10 and above are not compatible).
Dorothea June Grossbart Historic Costume Collection
The digital collection includes approximately 400 garments and accessories from the 19th and 20th centuries, which are owned by the Fashion Design and Merchandising area in the Department of Art and Art History at Wayne State.
PLEASE NOTE: The collection is only visible via FIREFOX or CHROME browsers, or earlier versions of INTERNET EXPLORER (release 9 or below).
Other Relevant Library Resource Guides
Students, faculty, and staff must use a WSU email address (ending in "@wayne.edu") when creating RefWorks accounts. If you are a WSU affiliate and are having troubles creating a RefWorks accounts, please message email@example.com for assistance.