Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Specialist Librarian
Finding Articles in Library Databases
These general databases are good for finding scholarly journal articles about your country and a topic. Read the brief explanation following each database link to tips on how to effectively search the database to find appropriate information sources for your topic.
You can start your search using Summon (the search box below), the Library's discovery system. This will find full-text articles, books and more on your topic. Use the limiters on the left side of your search results to select only Scholarly & Peer Review and Journal Article to get articles from peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Use the date slider to limit your results to current articles. See the handout below for how to use Summon.
Search here for articles, books, and more.
Proquest Multisearch This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple ProQuest databases (ABI Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, National Newspaper Abstracts, ProQuest Nursing Journals, and Research Library) simultaneously.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
With more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
Accessing Full-Text Articles
Chat or Email
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094