Subject Specialist Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Class Materials
Reference Resources
- A Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic by Hans Wehr - UGL Reserve PJ 6640 .W43 1994The Arabic-to-English dictionary recommended by most professors.
- Lisan al-'Arab (1883 Edition)Click on title above for the online Internet Archives version. Purdy-Kresge Library (PJ 6620 .I15 OVERSIZE, 4th floor) also has the non-circulating 15-volume edition published in 1955-56.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam / Islamic Desk Reference (UGL Reference DS 37 .E523)Click on this title to access the online Islamic Desk Reference, compiled from the more extensive Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition, 1954-1960, 6 vols plus indexes), which is located in the UGL Reference collection, DS 37 .E523.
Webpages
- The History of al-Tabari (List of Volume Titles from Wikipedia)In English. Use this wikipedia description to identify the volume you need, and search by the individual volume's title, or "Tabari, 838?-923. Ta'rikh al-rusul wa-al-muluk. English ; V.22" etc. in the Library's catalog to find Wayne State's copy. We will link to the Index Volume when it arrives!
- Tabari's Annales (Tārīkh al-rusul wa-al-mulūk)This 1879 Arabic edition, edited by M. J. de Goeje, is divided into 3 series, consisting of 6, 3, and 4 volumes respectively. Volumes includes "Introductio, glossarium, addenda et emendanda" and 15 has "Indices."
- Arabic Guide from University of GeorgiaContains excellent section about "Online Arabic Books or Downloadable Arabic Books" (scroll down page)
- Al-Mawsu'a al-shamila (The Comprehensive Encyclopedia)Online and searchable library of most of the major classical Arabic Islamic texts
- Al-Waraq Online Library of Classical Arabic TextsIn Arabic, organized by categories
- Library of Congress Romanization Table for ArabicMost U.S. library catalogs will follow these rules.