Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Specialist Librarian
MLA International Bibliography
MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
Over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar includes links to international scholarly resources that are not frequently included in western databases, including dissertations, theses, and digital repositories. Click on "more" at the end of the entry to request electronic delivery of the article. If you still can't get to something you'd like, copy and email the entire Google entry to me at AQ8554@wayne.edu, and I'll do my best to track it down for you! -Karen
The Arabic Novel: Bibliography and Critical Introduction, 1865-1995 by
Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Reference PJ 7577 .S25 2000 (6 vols.)
Publication Date: 2000 (Cairo: American University in Cairo Press)
This 6-volume reference work gives full bibliographical information for almost every Arabic novel published between 1865 and 1995; and also on all critical works related to every novel. Volume 1 contains an introduction in Arabic and English that begins with the origins of the Arabic novel, then reviews the novel in Egypt, in the eastern Arab countries, and in North Africa. Volumes 2 to 6 contain the bibliographical entries of the novels and their associated works of criticism (in Arabic), arranged alphabetically by novel, and indexed alphabetically, chronologically, by country, and by author.
Modern Arabic Literature by
Call Number: [Electronic Book]
Publication Date: 1993 (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press)
This volume of the Cambridge History of Arabic Literature provides the first authoritative, comprehensive, critical survey of creative writing in Arabic from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. The rise of Western ideas and literary forms, notably the novel, the short story, and drama, became influential. Includes an extensive bibliography.
Modern Arabic Fiction by
Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: PJ 7694 .E8 M59 2005
Publication Date: 2005 (New York: Columbia University Press)
Short stories and novels have given voice to the personal and historical experiences of modern Arabs. This anthology offers a rich and diverse selection of works from more than one hundred and forty prominent Arab writers of fiction, and from all Arab countries. The collection reflects various dimensions of modern Arab life, including the impact of modernity, the rise of the oil economy, political authoritarianism, corruption, religion, and poverty.
The Arabic Novel: An Historical and Critical Introduction (2nd Edition) by
Call Number: Purdy-Kresge Stacks: PJ 7577 .A4 1994 (also 1982)
Publication Date: 1994 (Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press)
This edition includes new material on the Arabic novel up to 1993. It is a survey of the Arabic novel and its development from its beginnings in the 19th century until today. It traces the origin, early cultivation and the mature period after World War II of the Arabic novel. (1982 First edition is located at the same call number).
Modern Arab American Fiction; a Reader's Guide by
Call Number: [Electronic Book]
Publication Date: 2011 (Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press)
Contents include: Uses of the Lebanese Civil War in Arab American fiction; Exploring Islam(s) in America; Sex, violence, and storytelling; The eternity of immigration: Arab American short story collections; Promised lands and unfulfilled promises; Crescent moons, jazz music, and feral ethnicity; and, From the Maghreb to the American mainstream: writers of North African origin.
Chicago/Turabian Style Guides
Excellent source for information on how format your paper, including notes, in Chicago Style. (Click on "Documenting Sources," in the History area).
Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.
This resource contains information on the Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation.
Citation Style Chart:A handy side-by-side comparison of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
Research and Documentation Online: History
In history and some humanities courses, you may be required to use the documentation system set forth in The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.
Turabian Quick Guide
Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations presents two basic documentation systems: bibliography style and reference list style. These are essentially the same as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, with slight modifications for the needs of student writers.
Citing Primary Sources: Chicago
Library of Congress instructions for and examples of citations of primary source materials: Web Sites, Cartoons, Maps, Photographs, Films, and more.