Librarian
GLANSIS
Website for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Great Lakes Aquatic Nonindigenous Species Information System (GLANSIS)
Databases
- Web of ScienceSuggestions: Choose all databases. Use multiple search rows. Search for your species (in quotation marks) in the first search box and "great lakes" in the second search box. Refine by countries/region.
- ScopusSuggestions: Use multiple search rows. Search for your species (in quotation marks) in the first search box and "great lakes" in the second search box. Refine by geographical region.
- Science DirectSuggestions: Advanced search. Search for your species (in quotation marks) and "great lakes" in the "Find articles with these terms" box. Utilize option to limit to the publication "Journal of Great Lakes Research."
- Environment CompleteNote: This database is offered by MelCat (State of Michigan), not Wayne State Libraries. Log on by choosing Wayne State University and entering your OneCard barcode or you can use a Michigan driver's license number.
Suggestions: Advanced search. Search for your species (in quotation marks) in the first search box and "great lakes" in the second search box. - PQ Dissertations & Theses GlobalSuggestions: Advanced Search. Search for your species (in quotation marks) in the first search box and choose "Abstract & Summary Text" in the drop-down menu next to the first search box. Do the same for "great lakes" in the second search box (choose "Abstract & Summary" in the drop-down menu).
Recommended Sources from GLANSIS
- Additional Resources from GLANSISThis is a list of additional sources of information that GLANSIS has compiled.
Note: The library does not maintain these links. If you encounter a link that is not working, contact a librarian for help.
U.S. Government Sources
- Species Data OverviewU.S. Geological Survey. The USGS brings an array of earth, water, biological, and mapping data and expertise to bear in support of decision-making on environmental, resource, and public safety issues.
- Species InformationU.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. Federal government agency whose primary responsibility is the conservation and management of fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats.
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryImproves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available. Suggestion: Advanced search. Search for species as exact phrase in title.
- Encyclopedia of LifeOnline encyclopedia providing a summary of almost all organisms. Type in a common name or scientific name to find information about an organism. An international effort led by the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History.
Note: This database can be very slow.
Web Sources
- Animal Diversity WebOnline database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan
- IUCN Red List of Threatened SpeciesComprehensive information source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.
- Google Scholar (via Wayne State Libraries)Use this Google Scholar link so that you can see Wayne State links to full-text.
References List - Formatting
- GLANSIS References FormatThis information is from GLANSIS on how to format your references in their preferred format.
Access to Information
If you find a source that you cannot access, contact the library for help. There is a free service called interlibrary loan, where we can try to get you the information you need from another library.