Subject Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Related Library Research Guides You May Find Helpful
Databases (Search for Articles & Chapters)
- SummonSummon is a library discovery tool. It allows you to search almost all of the library's full-text resources simultaneously. Summon can be a good place to start your search.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new windowThe PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, and includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health issues results from traumatic events, for populations ranging from children to adults.
- Legal Source (WSU Affiliates) This link opens in a new windowProviding indexing and full-text coverage of the most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source is the authoritative database for current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. It is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law.
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowWith a focus on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Books
Going Beyond 'the Talk': relationships and sexuality education for those supporting 12-18 year olds by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781787755130Publication Date: 2022 (Philadelphia, PA: Jessica Kingsley Publishers)This book offers guidance and advice on how to better communicate with 12-18-year olds about relationships and sexuality. The book explores the challenges in adult-child communication about sexuality and provides helpful advice on how to establish an open and positive dialogue, covering topics like social media, porn and sexual development in UK, US and Australian contexts. Specific age-based guidance and exercises are also offered. Finally, the book ends with the Flag System for identifying 'acceptable/nonacceptable' sexual behaviour and next steps. Throughout, the book emphasizes the importance of positive sexuality education, empowering young people to make their own choices on how to enjoy their relationships and sexuality in a safe and consensual way.
Educating Young People about Pornography: relationships and sex education (RSE) activities for 11-19 year olds by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781787758346Publication Date: 2022 (Philadelphia, PA: Jessica Kingsley Publishers)This book explores what pornography is, the politics behind pornography, how it can affect both sexual and non-sexual relationships and the effects of pornography on mental health. The book also covers the important wider topics of the making and sharing of inappropriate images and over exposure to porn contributing to what is becoming known as 'rape culture'. It includes full lesson plans, activities, photocopiable materials and clear information on how to implement the program, including outlines for staff CPD sessions and parent workshops.
The principles of pleasure: working with the good stuff as sex therapists and educators by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781317505303Publication Date: 2017 (New York, NY: Routledge)There are tremendous benefits to discussing the subject of sexual and emotional pleasure with clients, and this book addresses the challenges and misconceptions of doing just that. It teaches the skills necessary for mental health professionals and sex educators to build competence in this work with their clients. Readers get techniques to implement in therapeutic, clinical, and educational settings, and learn how to examine pleasure in ways that are currently lacking from academic work on sexual health. This book covers skills for working with populations of all orientations and gender expressions. Language and phrasing for addressing pleasure issues in a wide variety of educational or therapeutic settings is also provided.
Sex, identity, aesthetics: The work of Tobin Siebers and disability studies by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780472902477Publication Date: 2021 (Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan Press)The late Tobin Siebers was a pioneer of, and one of the most prominent thinkers in, the field of disability studies. This book uses Siebers' work as a launchpad for thinking about contemporary disability studies. The first section of the book explores how disability provides a way for scholars to theorize a wider range of intimacies and relationalities, arguing that disabled people seek sexual access and revolution in ways that transgress heteronormative dictates on sexual propriety. The second part of the book works outward from Siebers' work to looks at how disability broadens our concepts of social location and political affiliations. The final section examines how disability challenges traditional notions of artistic beauty and agency.
Sex Work on Campus by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9781000607024Publication Date: 2022 (New York: Routledge)Sex Work On Campus examines the experiences of college students engaged in sex work and sparks dialogue about the ways educators might develop a deeper appreciation for--and praxis of--equity and justice on campus. The book focuses on sex work histories, student motivations, and how power (or lack thereof) associated with social identity shape experiences of student sex work. It examines what these students learn because of sex work, and what college and university leaders can do to support them. These findings are combined in tandem with analysis of current research, popular culture, sex work rights movements, and exploration of legal contexts.
Touchy Subject: the history and philosophy of sex education by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9780226822167Publication Date: 2022 (Chicago: University of Chicago Press)A case for sex education that puts it in historical and philosophical context. These authors unpack debates over sex education, explaining why it's worth fighting for, what points of consensus we can build upon, and what sort of sex education schools should pursue in the future.
Survey of American College Students 2022, Gender Bias on Campus by Call Number: [Electronic Book]ISBN: 9798885170901Publication Date: 2022 (New York: Primary Research Group Inc.Sex discrimination in higher education.
Some Helpful Subject Headings
The Subject Headings below are useful for searching By Subject in the Library's Catalog, MeL, or WorldCat:
Aged - Sexual behavior
Bisexuals
Children - Sexual behavior
Communication and sex
Computer sex
Foreplay
Gays
Group sex
Handicapped - Sexual behavior
Males
Mass media and sex
Men - Sexual behavior
Mentally handicapped - Sexual behavior
Middle aged persons - Sexual behavior
Psychosexual disorders
Sex - use for LGBTQ
Sex (Biology)
Sex (Psychology)
Sex instruction
Sex Therapy
Sexology
Sexual intercourse
Sexual minorities - use for LGBTQ
Students - Sexual behavior
Telephone Sex
Transsexuals
Young adults - Sexual behavior
Youth - sexual behavior
Please note: Subject Headings (produced by the Library of Congress) are sometimes antiquated and slow to change to reflect current language. It can be useful to search by keywords, then notice what Subject Headings are assigned to that resource, to find more titles like it.