Have a Question?
Talk to a librarian now.
Welcome
This library guide has links to library databases and resources you can use to locate scholarly, credible sources of information for your speeches.
If you'd like to learn more independently about using the library, types of sources, citing and plagiarsim, go to the COM1010 Research Tutorial here.
Need help with something specific, like how to search using keywords or get full-text of any article. Try our YouTube Channel or you can Ask-A-Librarian 24x7
Looking for the COM1010 Video Bank?
The COM 1010 video bank is located in your Canvas course. To access them:
- Go to the home page of your COM 1010 Canvas course
- Scroll down to: Library: Information Literacy, Citation, and Assignment Resources
- Click the link on the first entry in that module: Social Justice Speeches: Examples
- You should see a bank of videos.
- For a larger selection of videos, scroll down to the bottom of that page. You should see: “In addition to the speeches above, please see the following link for a larger selection of videos: Social Justice Speech Examples.docx.”
- Select the Word file link, which contains a list of hyperlinked video titles that take you directly to the videos. You can see videos in the Social Justice Speech Examples/or select a video from the hyperlinked document.
If you are still having trouble finding the video bank, please email publicspeaking@wayne.edu
Need Help?
Chat or Email
Reference Desks
Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094
You can talk to a librarian online using our CHAT service 24x7 (that's 24 hours a day/7 days a week). Please let the librarian know you are working on a COM1010 speech. Just click Ask A Librarian to get started.
Do you need specialized assistance, for this class or another class assignment. You can make an appointment with a Subject Specialist Librarian.
Need a topic?
Some databases have topic or issues lists that are helpful for getting topic ideas. The links below take you to topic lists you can browse.
Of course, you can always use the article databases tab, or newspapers tab in this guide to find other great places to search. You can also use other library guides for help researching various subjects like psychology, Africana studies, and women's studies as appropriate to your topic.
- Browse Topics (CQ Researcher)CQ Researcher is a library database that contains reports on a wide variety of social issue topics, along with a suggested list of resources for finding out more. The CQ Research report is one quality resource you can use to discover information on a topic.
- Browse Issues (Opposing Viewpoints in Context)Select any of the topics in this list from the Opposing Viewpoints library database, and you will be taken to a topic overview and quality information resources associated with the topic
- Topic Finder (GALE Virtual Reference Library)Type in a search term to visually explore a topic in the GALE Virtual Reference Library topic finder.
Search for Articles, Books, & More
Specialized Databases
Try one of the library databases below to find articles, book chapters, video, audio and more.
You can also use any of the library guides as relevant to your topic by clicking this link: library guides.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new windowAn online collection on African American life, The African American Experience is an electronic research tool for African American history and culture. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowOnline version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowThe American Indian Experience offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From Pre-contact to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida, AIE is meant for anyone wishing to learn more about America's Native Peoples.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowWith more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- Latino American Experience. This link opens in a new windowWide-ranging and easy to use, LAE is the first full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowProQuest Central brings together many of our most used databases to create the most comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database available. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.
Need statistics? Our Social Science Data guide and Health Statistics guide can get you there fast!
Search Strategy Worksheet
Use the search strategy worksheet to help you organize the research process. The first step is to come up with a question or statement you'd like to investigate. From there, pull out your main concepts, and conclude the sheet by filling in synonyms for your main concepts. Happy searching!