Subject Specialist Librarian
Serena Vaquilar
Contact:
134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Phone: (313) 577-8368
Email: serena.vaquilar@wayne.edu
Research consultations available by appointment. Please email for times outside of appointment scheduler (above).
Phone: (313) 577-8368
Email: serena.vaquilar@wayne.edu
Research consultations available by appointment. Please email for times outside of appointment scheduler (above).
The Detroit Sunday Journal
- Detroit Sunday JournalThe Detroit Sunday Journal was a weekly tabloid newspaper, published by striking union workers from the Detroit News and Detroit Free Press. The strike began in July, 1995; spanning four years and just over 200 editions, the Sunday Journal was published from November 19, 1995, through November 21, 1999. Circulation for most editions was 40,000-60,000. It was available through the mail and in stores and corner boxes throughout Southeast Michigan.
The newspaper strike formally ended in February, 1997, when the unions made an offer to return to work. Workers were rehired at a trickle’s pace as vacancies occurred, and the dispute continued until 2000, when a Federal Court of Appeals reversed NLRB and lower court rulings on an unfair labor practice and thus ended the unions’ final recourse to prevail.
The newspaper covered current events in general, with in-depth coverage of local news and labor issues. This collection includes the full run of the paper, which was published for the duration of the strike, until shortly before the final appeal ruling.
This collection includes the full run of the paper, which was published for the duration of the strike.
Looking for Newspapers?
Check out the Newspapers tab in this guide! Click here!
Useful websites
- GPOs Federal Digital SystemFormerly GPOAccess, FDSYS allows you free access to federal information.
- FCCFederal Communications Commission
- CONGRESS.GOVFind the full-text of bills, bill status information and other legislative information about federal statutes.
Finding FCC Decisions
FCC decisions, reports, public notices, and other documents are published in the Federal Communications Commission Reports (1934-1965), the Federal Communications Commission Reports (1966-1986) and the FCC Record (1987-present).
FCC decisions, statements, notices, and other documents can be found in the FCC's EDOCS system (searchable free on the web back to 1996).
Media Law Overview
- Media Law Overview - From Wex (Cornell Law School)Wex is a Wikipedia type encyclopedia for legal topics maintained by the Cornell Law School Legal Information Institute.
Policy Websites & Databases
There are several general policy databases which may be helpful with your research.
- The Policy ArchiveA digital library of public policy research.
- Open CRS"The Congressional Research Service is a "think tank" that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Congressional Research Service reports have traditionally only been available to Congressional offices. Open CRS, a project of the Center for Democracy & Technology through the cooperation of several organizations and collectors of CRS Reports, provides citizens access to reports already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports".
A Few Print Starting Points
- Here are some catalog searches for some topics (each link is live and will take you to the classic library catalog):
Telecommunication - Law and legislation - United States
Starting Points
These databases cover a wide range of topics and are often a good place to start your research.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Find Articles
These databases are particularly good for research in Speech, Journalism, Communication issues.
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowOnline version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowWith more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new windowA searchable, and ever-expanding, website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average Americans, past and present A virtual library of thousands of diverse sources: award-winning reference works, primary documents, illustrations, maps A key resource supporting courses in American history and literature.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic and minority presses in the United States
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowFormerly PAIS International, this database provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
Communications Law Journals
The Law Library has several communications journals in its collections.
Federal Communications Commission
The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) was created to oversee the provisions of the Communications Act of 1934 and its subsequent amendments.
The FCC website includes FCC forms, consumer information, a copy of the Telecommunications Act of 1996 and related materials, information on enforcement actions. A beta site regorganization (Reboot) is underway.