Subject Specialist Librarian
Recommended Databases for Overviews and Background Information
The list of recommended databases below can also be accessed from the WSU Library Homepage (library.wayne.edu). These Article Databases will help you find BIOGRAPHICAL information, DEFINITIONS of special terms, and information about COUNTRIES and HISTORICAL TOPICS.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- CIA World Fact BookThis encyclopedic text provides information on 267 COUNTRIES worldwide, including significant historical events, as well as the current state of their economies, government and politics, military, transportation, etc.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
SUMMON
A megasearch that searches for books, articles and other resources across many library databases and the catalog. Use this search if you are having difficulty locating your topic in recommended databases.
Books, Videos, Recordings, Interviews, Websites
Books (& More) from the Library Catalog:
You can find books on a historical topic, or a biography in book form of a famous person. You may also be able to find videos, or interviews in book form, or possibly in video or audio form (but there is less of this type of material in the catalog).
VIDEOS
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new windowKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- YouTube for VideosFor videos and other recordings you can also use YouTube.
WEBSITES
As far as Websites go, you can just try Google. But make sure that the information you use is from reputable sites. It is not a good idea to use Wikipedia information as a resource for research in college. You can find pretty good background information on topics there, but then use that information to search for something from a different source. Sometimes the bibliographies listed in Wikipedia can lead you to good resources. Don’t use personal websites as research resources.
Library Databases
Use these recommended databases to find JOURNAL, MAGAZINE (a.k.a. PERIODICAL), and NEWSPAPER articles.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
NEWSPAPERS for Current Events
These databases provide access to worldwide newspapers where you can find articles on the current situation and issues confronting your country.
Citing Your Sources
As far as citation goes, you will find that MANY of the article and other databases, even the library catalog, include CITATION TOOLS. In the Library Catalog, you’ll find the words “Cite This” next to the catalog record for each item. You can usually choose the style you need, whether it’s MLA, or APA, or CHICAGO/TURABIAN.
Watch for these Citation Tools; they can be very helpful.
- MLA Style Guide (from OWL at Purdue)Helpful guide for formating citations in MLA style.
- APA Style Guide (from OWL at Purdue)Helpful guide for in-text citations, references, format.
- ZoteroBibZoteroBib creates a bibliography in the style you need, including APA, MLA and Chicago/Turbaian. Just enter the from URL, title, DOI and other information, select your style and Zotero will compile a formatted citation list.