Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Construction Association of Michigan
CAM is a not-for-profit organization consisting of over 2,200 members, including general contractors, subcontractors, equipment and material suppliers, architects, engineers and service firms.
American Rental Association
The American Rental Association (ARA) is the largest international trade association for owners of equipment and event rental operations and manufacturers and suppliers of rental equipment.
Equipment and Leasing Finance Association
ELFA is the trade association representing financial services companies and manufacturers in the nearly $1 trillion U.S. equipment finance sector. Our members provide the financing that businesses need to operate and grow.
National Association of Women in Contruction (Detroit Chapter)
Networking and support for women in the construction industry. Members are architects, engineers, construction managers, safety officers, lawyers, accountants, real estate professionals, materials suppliers, women-owned businesses, tradeswomen, and many more.
Trade Publications have articles written by people who are members of the industry or profession. The content may be peer reviewed by member of the field, or they may be paid writers with articles reviewed by the editor. The publication usually includes advertisements catering to that demographic. The articles are:
- written for members of an industry or profession and written in their language,
- short and provide industry news, career and conference or conventions information,
- may have reference or footnotes, and
- present the commercial side of the profession (rather than scholarly).
Here are some trade publications that relate to the construction and the equipment rental industry:
You can also search across lots of different publications and media sources by using an article database.
The NAICS code is a 6 digit code used by the US government to define and designate the industry. It is not uncommon for a business to have more than one code. Using a NAICS code to search a business database can help you find important information more efficiently.
When a big search works
When you are just poking around for big multidisciplinary topics--like Search Engine Optimization, try searching broadly across resources and disciplines.
A library search in our Discovery System, Summon, let's you search almost all of the library's full-text print and online resources for books, book chapters, articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers and more.
Click the "Add Results Beyond the Library's Collection" to expand your search. You will need to use Interlibrary Loan to request some of the articles.
Search here for articles, books, and more.
A market research tool that provides industry overviews, key statistics, and analysis on more than 700 U.S. industries
Video Tutorial -- IBISWorld
This video introduces users to searching and navigating the database and explores a small fraction of the information contained within the reports.
Mergent FIS Online
Fully searchable data on more than 10,000 companies on the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq exchanges
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides access to over 1,200 journals from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics publications, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Most states have a set of licensed resources they make available to their residents for free. Knowing how to find and use them can give you a competitive edge in your market research.
Suggested Mel.org business research databases
A to Z Databases
Detailed information on 30 million businesses and executives. Includes a jobs database and email marketing.
Encyclopedia of Associations
Covers more than 23,000 organizations including categories such as trade, business, and commercial.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
It provides insights on entrepreneurship and small businesses topics. Offers full text business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies, and company profiles.
Explore for Public Libraries
Use this database to look for books and articles from trade publications, news articles and more.
GALE Business: Demographics Now
Identify markets and audiences in your community.
Regional Business News
Newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires.
Small Business Reference Center
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business. Includes information on accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. State-specific information included.
Subject Specialist Librarian