Research Support Librarian
Adobe Acrobat Reader
Library computers have Adobe Acrobat Reader, which allows you to open PDFs, highlight text, and save them with the highlights. See the "Open Computing" locations here for computers that have this software.
Adobe.com notes that Acrobat Reader is a free download.
Zotero
To manage your sources all in one place, consider using a bibliographic management tool.
Zotero (recommended for undergraduate students)
GLANSIS
Website for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Great Lakes Aquatic Nonindigenous Species Information System (GLANSIS)
Species Level Risk Assessments Explorer
Start here to view previous assessments on your species. You can get information for your assignment, and you can also find other articles by doing some citation searching.
Databases
-
Web of ScienceSuggestions: Search for your species. Start with the past 5 years.
-
ScopusSuggestions: Search for your species. Start with the past five years.
-
Science DirectSuggestions: Search for your species. Start with the past 5 years.
-
Environment CompleteNote: This database is offered by MelCat (State of Michigan), not Wayne State Libraries. Log on by choosing Wayne State University and entering your OneCard barcode or you can use a Michigan driver's license number.
-
PQ Dissertations & Theses GlobalSuggestions: Advanced Search. Search for your species (in quotation marks) in the first search box and choose "Abstract & Summary Text" in the drop-down menu next to the first search box.
Journal of Great Lakes Research
Search directly in the Journal of Great Lakes Research.
Note that we only have access to articles in this journal through 2019. If you find an article published from 2019 - present, and you cannot get to the full-text, please request that article through interlibrary loan.
Access to Information
If you find a source that you cannot access, contact the library for help. There is a free service called interlibrary loan, where we can try to get you the information you need from another library.
Web Sources
-
Google Scholar (via Wayne State Libraries)Use this Google Scholar link so that you can see Wayne State links to full-text.
-
Plants of the World OnlineBrowse 1,434,000 global plant names, 531,800 detailed descriptions, and 437,200 images. Kew Royal Botanic Gardens.
-
IUCN Red List of Threatened SpeciesComprehensive information source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.
U.S. Government Sources
-
USDA PLANTS DatabaseProvides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the United States and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, web links, and references.
-
Species Data OverviewU.S. Geological Survey. The USGS brings an array of earth, water, biological, and mapping data and expertise to bear in support of decision-making on environmental, resource, and public safety issues.
-
Species InformationU.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. Federal government agency whose primary responsibility is the conservation and management of fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats.
-
Biodiversity Heritage LibraryImproves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available. Suggestion: Advanced search. Search for species as exact phrase in title.
-
Encyclopedia of LifeOnline encyclopedia providing a summary of almost all organisms. Type in a common name or scientific name to find information about an organism. An international effort led by the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History.
Note: This database can be very slow.
Recommended Sources from GLANSIS
-
Additional Resources from GLANSISThis is a list of additional sources of information that GLANSIS has compiled.
Note: The library does not maintain these links. If you encounter a link that is not working, contact a librarian for help.
References List - Formatting
-
GLANSIS References FormatThis information is from GLANSIS on how to format your references in their preferred format.
For your annotated bibliography assignment, if you need help identifying what kind of reference type you have, ask a librarian.