Subject Specialist Librarian
Karen Liston
Contact:
AQ8554@wayne.edu
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Subjects: Education, Language and Area Studies
Catalogs (Books, Films, DVD's, Journal Titles, etc.)
- WSU Library CatalogUse the WSU catalog to locate electronic and print books from the WSU collections. Includes films, images, scores, journal titles, etc.
- MeLCat (Michigan Electronic Library Catalog)Michigan's shared library catalog allows you to request loans from other libraries. When they arrive, you'll be contacted by e-mail to come pick them up. There can be many records for the same item and you may have to look through several to find an "available" item to request.
- The Sophie Project: A Digital Library of Works by German-Speaking WomenThe Sophie Digital Library preserves a number of early German-language creative works which might otherwise be lost, making them easily available from a single source, at no cost to users.
- WorldCatA large shared catalog of items in libraries all over the world. Including one of the following subject phrases (or descriptors) can help you find materials ABOUT a work or author (rather than the work itself):
Criticism and Interpretation
Critique et interpretation
Criticism, interpretation, etc.
History and criticism.
To request an item, click on "Get It@WSU," then the big blue "Request Full Text" button, then login to ILLiad with your WSU AccessID and Password, and the data describing your request will appear in the form (which you must complete and submit). - Hathi Trust Digital LibraryA vast repository of digitized content from academic collections worldwide, with fulltext access to materials in the public domain. (Materials digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft, as well as through in-house initiatives).
- Karlsruher Viertueller KatalogThe KVK (Karlsruler Virtueller Katalog) is a meta search engine for the detection of more than 500 million books, magazines and other media in library and book trade catalogs worldwide.
- Das Verzeichnis Lieferbarer Bucher *German books in print. Books found here might also be available through WSU's Catalog, MelCat, or WorldCat for borrowing.
- Suggest a TitleYou may suggest that the library purchase a title that it does not own and that you need for your project. .
You are encouraged to borrow (or suggest for purchase) the titles you need. If you DO purchase a title for your research, consider donating it to the libraries, where we'll make it available for others to use, too!
Useful Tools
Dictionaries and Language Tools
- LEO (Dictionary +)LEO was founded by the computer operational group of the Faculty of computer science of the Technical University of Munich.
- dict.cc (Dictionary +)Operated by Paul Hemetsberger since 2006, this 'crowdsourced' dictionary is based on the word list of dict.tu-chemnitz.de (Frank Richter) and Mr Honey's Business Dictionary (with the permission of Winfried Honig).
- Duden (Dictionary +)The "Sprachwissen" tab includes Duden's online dictionary, language guides, spelling rules, and language games.
- linguee.de (Dictionary +)German-based translator, in which you can enter words or phrases for definitions, examples in full sentences, and translation between many languages.
Useful Essay Enrichment
- University of Chicago Theories of Media Keywords GlossaryUseful list of theories and concepts to enrich your writing, inspire ideas, and provide in-depth explanations for oft-used, but sometimes hard-to-grasp, writing terminology.
MLA Style Tools & Citation Managers
- Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide"MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page." (from their web site)
- Citing Primary Sources: MLALibrary of Congress instructions for and examples of citations of primary source materials: Web Sites, Cartoons, Maps, Photographs, Films, and more.
- Using ZoteroZotero is free app you can use to organize your citations and PDFs. It also integrates with Word and other word processing software to help you properly format in-text citations and reference lists.
Databases - Best Bets!
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU has perpetual access to the Arts and Sciences I-XV, Hebrew Journals and Sustainability Collections.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowA searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
Databases to Explore
- British Humanities Index This link opens in a new windowAn international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities.
- Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek (German Digital Library)The central National Access Portal of Culture and Science in Germany, the DDB is a catalog of digital content from a network of cultural and scientific institutions in Germany (libraries, archives, museums, research institutions, and other organizations). The DDB is Germany's national data aggregator for Europeana. Not all records link to fulltext or full digital objects.
- Dissertations and Theses - Full TextDoctoral dissertations (and some masters theses) from all over the world. Full text frequently available. Excellent bibliographies.
- FIAF international film archive database This link opens in a new windowContains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- International index to television periodicals, 1979- List of periodicals indexed Treasures from the film archives International directory of film and TV documentation collections and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
- Humanities & social sciences index retrospective, 1907-1984. This link opens in a new windowThis database offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Coverage also includes content from H.W. Wilson's International Index. Combine this valuable resource with other Wilson databases such as Humanities Full Text and/or Social Sciences Full Text for a century of research in hundreds of journals.
Research is . . .
ITERATIVE - as you learn about your topic and read research, you will need to search again. Be sure you give yourself enough time to order materials through MeLCat and Interlibrary Loan, and schedule additional 'cycles' of searching and learning.
AN ART - There is no perfect or "right" way to search, but the more techniques you try the richer your discovery and exposure to the literature of the field can be. Experiment with subject headings, synonyms, and different combinations.
CREATIVE - Your approaches, background, experiences, and interests will make your research unique. Exploit the special talents you bring to your research, such as languages, travel, prior reading, etc.
COLLABORATIVE - Not only are you relating to other scholars by building on their work, citing integritously, and documenting your own scholarship so that others can use it integritously, but enriching your shared development by discussing your research with your classmates, professors, librarians, and others.