Liaison Librarian
Rhonda McGinnis
Contact:
Rm 134 Purdy/Kresge Library
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Wayne State University Library System
Detroit, MI 48202
(313) 577-8568
aa4207@wayne.edu
Industry News Sources
- Supply Chain @ Healthcare Finance NewsA leading news source for developments in the healthcare finance industry with a specific subsection on the supply chain.
- Hospitals & Health Networks MagazineTargeted at hospital system executives and emerging leaders, the new here discusses best practices, innovative strategies, real-world solutions, and emerging trends.
- Supply Chain @ Becker's Hospital ReviewFeatures up-to-date business and legal news and analysis relating to hospitals and health systems. Content is geared toward high-level hospital leaders.
Databases
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database includes indexing and full-text articles for over 1000 business journals.
Video Tutorial: Basic Searching in Business Source Complete. - ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowProvides industry overviews, key statistics, and analysis on more than 700 U.S. industries. Here are the NAICS Code and Title of several reports of particular interest that you can search for.
• 32541—Pharmaceutical & Medicine Manufacturing
• 33451—Medical Device Manufacturing
• 33911—Medical Equipment & Supplies Manufacturing
• 42345—Medical Equipment & Supplies Wholesale
• 62111—Offices of Physicians
• 62211—General &Surgical Hospitals
• OD5963—Group Purchasing Organizations - PubMed@Wayne This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)--Overview. NLM's search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases --Home page.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL Complete is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowClick link to Drugs at the top of the page to look up individual drugs for a range of pricing information.
- Video Tutorial--Understanding Scholarly, Trade & Popular Articles in BusinessThis brief video tutorial will explain the difference between scholarly, trade and popular journal articles and explain why trade articles are so important in Business.
Industry Associations
Associations are great sources of industry news, data, surveys, and more. Following is a list of some of the largest healthcare associations, but there may be others relevant to your particular topic:
- Healthcare Supply Chain Association
- Association for Health Care Resource & Materials Management
- American College of Healthcare Executives
- Healthcare Financial Management Association
- Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS)
- American Hospital Association (AHA)
- Federation of American Hospitals (FAH)
Recent Books in Healthcare SCM
Health Care Supply Chain Management: Elements, Operations, and Strategies by This book examines supply chain management within the unique context of healthcare services delivery. The authors, with over 60 years combined experience in healthcare administration, supply chain, and academia, examine the critical topics of sourcing, logistics, security and compliance, purchasing, storage and inventory management, distribution, vendor management, as well as future challenges in health care.
Optimize Your Healthcare Supply Chain Performance by If you are not optimizing supply chain performance, you are missing the opportunity to control costs, improve patient safety, and increase nurse and physician satisfaction. This book provides the information you need to understand and improve supply chain management at your organization. Written for senior leaders, this book explains how to enable your team to make sound supply chain decisions.
EBusiness in Healthcare by Aggregates five years of experience in projects focusing on the technical and organizational issues of eProcurement in the hospital and healthcare industry,
Operations Management in Healthcare by This comprehensive, practice-oriented text illustrates how healthcare organizations can gain a competitive edge through superior operations. Underscoring the importance of a strategic perspective, it describes how to attain excellence in the four competitive priorities: quality, cost, timeliness, and flexibility.
Group Purchasing Organizations : an undisclosed scandal in the U.S. healthcare industry by Group Purchasing Organizations (GPOs) are a massive subset of the healthcare industry that negotiate lower costs for healthcare supplies by buying for several hospitals at once. This book provides an analysis and critique of this industry.
E-Business and Supply Chain Integration by This book explains how a number of tools can be used to produce an e-supply chain and achieve higher productivity. It examines theories along with real life cases and examples from industry to illustrate how e-business can enhance supply chain integration.
