Lean Production for Competitive Advantage by John NicholasThe Lean concepts and principles described in this book have revolutionized manufacturing practice and business conduct in a manner similar to what Henry Ford's system did for mass manufacturing. Lean production however, involves much more than the adoption of methods and procedures, it requires a change in management philosophy that emphasizes relationship building, trust, and responsibility being conferred to frontline workers and suppliers. Based on three decades of teaching experience, Lean Production for a Competitive Advantage: A Comprehensive Guide to Lean Methodologies and Management Practices introduces the Lean philosophy and illustrates the effective application of Lean tools with real-world case studies. From fundamental concepts to integrated planning and control in pull production and the supply chain, the text provides a complete introduction to Lean production. Coverage includes small batch production, setup reduction, pull production, preventive maintenance, standard operations, as well as synchronizing and scheduling lean operations. Detailing the key principles and practices of Lean production, the text also: Illustrates effective implementation techniques with case studies from a range of industries Includes questions and completed problems in each chapter Explains how to effectively partner with suppliers and employees to accomplish productivity goals Designed for students who have a basic foundation in production and operations management, the text provides a thorough understanding of the fundamental principles of Lean. It also offers practical know-how for implementing a culture of continuous improvement on the shop floor or in the office, creating a heightened sense of responsibility and pride in all stakeholders involved, and enhancing productivity and efficiency to improve the bottom line. Instructor's material available - please contact: firstname.lastname@example.org or call 1-800-634-7064 to request these materials.
Publication Date: 2010-07-06
Lean Production for the Small Company by Mike ElbertA hands-on guide to adapting Lean principles and the Toyota Production System to high-mix/low-volume environments, Lean Production for the Small Company uses charts, pictures, and easy-to-understand language to describe the methods needed to improve processes and eliminate waste. It walks readers through the correct order of implementation and describes problems and pitfalls along with time-tested solutions. Explaining how to incorporate existing systems into a Lean strategy, the book starts with the fundamentals and builds on them to describe the full range of tools and processes needed to implement Lean. It outlines how to design factories for Lean manufacturing and demonstrates how to remove variations within business and manufacturing processes to achieve a smooth continuous flow of product that delivers your product on time to customers. The tools, methods, and ideals discussed are applicable in any industry and all parts of your business--from manufacturing and sales to human resources. The text unveils new methods and tools that can help you reduce inventory, improve inventory turns, and facilitate raw material flow through the factory. It details how to use customer order demands to schedule the production floor, rather than using estimated production schedules. It also considers the accounting process and explains how to improve your cash-to-cash cycle time. Drawing on the author's decades of experience transforming high-mix plants to Lean, the text brings together coverage of the tools and processes that have made Toyota so successful. All the chapters in this book, when implemented, will result in a culture change that will transform your company into a learning organization that continuously eliminates waste and improves its processes.
Publication Date: 2012-08-07
The Complete Lean Enterprise by Beau Keyte; Drew Locher"Winner of the 2005 Shingo Prize for Excellence in Manufacturing Research" Most lean initiatives conducted by manufacturers are focused mostly on shop-floor activities — mapping the value stream of raw material to the shop-floor customer. Much of the untapped potential for productivity improvements lies, however, in non-production areas — where the value stream is administrative (i.e., "order to cash"). These "office" value streams directly support the daily production needs of an enterprise. Beau Keyte and Drew Locher's new book, The Complete Lean Enterprise: Value Stream Mapping for Administrative and Office Processes, offers a step-by-step approach to applying lean initiatives to the administrative and office environment. It's a must read for leaders looking to improve their production support activities within their order-to-cash value stream. The Complete Lean Enterpriseis a valuable tool in applying value stream mapping (VSM) to non-production areas, identifying office wastes, establishing performance metrics, speeding up administrative workflow, and improving office efficiency.
Unicheck is software in Canvas to check documents for plagiarism. Use these instructions to a) self-enroll in the Canvas course, b) upload the document you want to check to the Unicheck assignment, and c) interpret the results from Unicheck.
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
"Scopus is the world's largest abstracts database of 13,450 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers with access to over 25 million abstracts (going back to 1966)." Full-text is included for some citations.