Select libraries are now open to Wayne State students, faculty and staff. See what services we're offering online and in person

LDT 7100 - Foundations of Instructional Technology

Need Help?

Chat or Email

Ask A Librarian Logo

Reference Desks

Undergraduate (UGL): 313-577-8852
Purdy/Kresge: 313-577-6423
Arthur Neef Law: 313-577-6180
Shiffman Medical: 313-577-1094

About the LDT7100 Library Guide

This library guide will introduce the library resources and services you can use for your classroom assignments for the course LDT7100, and other coursework in the Instructional Technology program.

Watch the video below for an introduction and instructions on how to navigate through this guide.

To begin, watch the re:Search videos

You need to complete the six online lessons in re:Search, a set of 6 introductory lessons to library research.

Click this link to access the re:Search Online Library Lessons

When you have completed the six re:Search Online Library Lessons, please return to your Blackboard course site to take the quiz.

Instructional Modules

This guide is designed to step you through an introduction to library resources and services that will support your research for assignments in LDT7100 and other courses in the Instructional Technology program.

There are 6 modules in this tutorial. For the optimum learning experience, please go throught the modules in the order presented below.

 

Module 1: Subject Resources and How-To Guides

In the re:Search videos, you watched a video on using research guides to find quality information sources. If you need a refresher, watch the video linked below.

If you have not already done so, explore the Instructional Technology Research Guide by selecting the Instructional Technology option on the left navigation bar of this page.

The guide provides access to library databases that have books, articles, conference papers n-line journals, citations and full-texts related to Educational/Instructional Technology.

Additional Resources

Want to look at more guides? Use the link below to browse through a list of all of the library's Research Guides.

Module 2: Citation and Writing Resources

Additional Resources

Following are more resources to help you with writing your papers and citing your sources.

Zotero is a free app that helps you manage your citations, build a database of articles and citation elements, then integrates with Microsoft Word to construct your in-text citations and bibliography. You should consider using a citation management tool like Zotero as you begin your Master's studies. Watch the following video for an introduction to Zotero.

Module 3: Types of Information Sources and Identifying Empirical Research

Empirical research is research based on observed and measured phenomena. Using empirical research articles as sources for your papers strengthens your arguments. Additionally, you may have assignments that require the use of empirical research articles from scholarly journals.

Review the following Powerpoint presentation on the components of an empirical research article.

Module 4: Beginning Your Research Paper or Project

There are strategies you can employ that will help make your research efficient and effective.

Watch the following video for an explanation of one way to develop an efficient search strategy for your research topic.

Module 5: Searching Library Databases

Once you have identified your search terms using a search strategy development process like the search strategy worksheet in Module 4, you can employ Connector (Boolean) search strategies to increase the precision of your search in information discovery tools such as library databases and Google Scholar.

Watch the following video for an explanation of Connector (Boolean) searching.

You will begin your search in a library database using a keyword search, but you will find powerful tools available in the databases to increase the precision and efficiency of your searching. Using Subject Headings is one way to accomplish this.

Watch the following video, which explains the differences between keywords and subject headings, and how to locate subject headings in different databases.

Using Library Databases

The Wayne State library system subscribes to hundreds of library databases. Following are a few databases I recommend you become familiar with as information sources for your course assignments in the Instructional Technology program.

Review the handout or video associated with each database, and explore the linked database by trying out a search. In each database, see if you can:

  • Find the Advanced Search
  • Identify how to limit your search results to peer-reviewed journal articles
  • Locate the selection that will allow you to email your search results
  • Locate the tool that will create an APA citation for you

Before you begin exploring the databases, watch the following video to understand how to use the 360 link to full-text button to access or order full-text when it is not immediately available in your database search results.

Module 6: Finding Articles and Other Information Sources When You Have a Citation

The library databases and Google Scholar are just a starting point for researching a topic. In many cases, articles and other information sources you find will contain substantial reference lists, which you can use to identify other sources of information for your research.

Watch the following video, which demonstrates 3 ways you can find an article when you have a citation.

Evaluation

When you have completed the LDT7100 Modules, please complete this brief evaluation

Professional Organizations

Other Relevant Guides