Need Help?
Your Liaison Librarian
(313) 577-5596
You can make an appointment (above), or when I'm available, you can drop in on my Zoom Meeting Room by pasting this URL into your browser: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3135775596 If I'm available, I'll admit you within a few minutes. Try it out - I'd love to see you!
Welcome to the guide for LDT7180!
Recommended Search Terms for Message Design and Display
Message Design and Display has special vocabulary. Using the terminology listed below in your searching may help you locate articles and other resources related to your topic.
| chromaticity | "instructional messages" | "text and image" |
| color | interface | "text relationship" |
| "color perception" | intensity | typography |
| "color theory" | message | "visual perception" |
| "design theory" | "object permanence" | "visual stimuli" |
| graphics | "object recognition" | web |
| hue |
Videos to help you navigate the Wayne State Libraries Resources and Services
Link to the WSU Library System Instruction YouTube channel
Suggested Library Databases for LDT
Use the SUMMON search box below to search almost all of the library databases simultaneously.
OTHER DATABASES
You may also want to try one of the library databases below, to do a more targeted, specific search on your topic. Each of the following databases specializes in a particular discipline or subject area.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowWith more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- LearnTechLib This link opens in a new windowLearnTechLib, formerly EdITLib Digital Library, is your source for peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, Georef, Knovel, NTIS, Geobase and Inspec as well as patents, standards and handbooks. A product from Elsevier.
- ERIC - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Books and eBooks
Available from the Wayne State libraries. Some titles are available online.
- Skillsoft Books This link opens in a new windowSkillsoft contains books, book summaries, research reports, and best practices on a variety of topics, including business, engineering, and technology.
Linking to Full Text Articles
Wayne State libraries use Article Linker to help you link to full text from library databases and Google Scholar. Look for the 
in the databases or a link that says Full Text@Wayne to access Full-Text, or our Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery service, which allows you to order items that are not available in full text for electronic delivery to your Wayne State or other specified e-mail address, usually within 48 hours.
Citation Management Tools
Citation management software can help you build a library of your citations, export citations from search results directly into the software, and use your library of citations with Word to insert in-text citations and build your bibliography.
Zotero is a freely available citation manager that works with your browser to organize your citations. I recommend Zotero for beginners who have never used a citation manager before.
EndNote is licensed citation management software available free to Wayne State students. There is both a software and web version of EndNote available. EndNote is a very useful tool, but does have a learning curve. I recommend EndNote for students who are familiar with citation management software, or for those who are more expert users of database software or programs like Excel.
Use the links below to find out more about Zotero and EndNote, including where you can go to download these citation management options.
Note: You can export your saved Zotero citation library into EndNote, so if you decide to start with the easier tool, then move up to EndNote at a later date, you can do so. You will find the instructions on the How To guides below.
- How to Use ZoteroLinks to the Zotero.org website, videos on setting up and using Zotero.
- How to Use EndNoteThis guide to How to Use EndNote provides links to downloading your free version of EndNote, videos, FAQs and free online synchronous classes on using EndNote.